Walking around town and late for dinner


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
May 9th 2006
Published: May 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I got up at 5 am!! LOL....I was soo proud of myself. I took a shower, did paath, it was great. The light in this room comes in so bright it is pretty much impossible to sleep. There is no point. So the breakfast here isn't that bad, it actually lasts me until quite late in the afternoon before I start feeling hungry. So we spent the day walking around town and learning things like where the english bookstore is and just some other practical stuff. Then we went on the metro! The escalators here are so fast that you have to jump onto them just to get on and then they pretty much just throw you off. I almost fell a couple of times getting on and off.
So we went to Andel which has the new mall. There's a huge store there that's just like Walmart and they have lots of stuff. We went to the cashier and he completely looked like one of those people who just really does not want to be there. So right when Melody is about to pay for her stuff she realizes she doesn't have her wallet. She just puts her water bottle down and leaves to look for her wallet. The guy just glares at me as I smile down at him sheepishly and shrug my shoulders. So we wait a couple minutes and she comes back and says she left it in the aisle with the notebooks. He picks up her water bottle and starts scanning it through and she's like "no no that's mine" he doesn't get it but after a couple of hand gestures and "no no" he just shrugs, glares at us and lets us go. We walked around the mall a little bit more, looked at some clothing shops and stuff and then went back through the "walmart" store. This guy stops us and puts some stickers on our stuff so that it's proof that it's our own stuff and we didn't steal it from there or whatever. Anyway, as we're leaving the security guard stops us and gestures to open our bags. So now we're worried and I open mine and show him my receipt for my notebook, Melody shows hers and Jessica is desperately searching. Finally she shows hers and he lets us go. So they decide that they're not going back to that
CobblestoneCobblestoneCobblestone

It's hard walking on this for the first little while! Especially if you have weak ankles like me.
place again LOL.
Anyway we get back on the metro and head back to our tram stop. We get something to eat from a place owned by two french guys who speak enligh, czech, and french and then we get on the tram. Then as I'm looking out the window I realize we're going the wrong way, I mean we're supposed to be going towards Prague castle not away from it. But we all decide that maybe it will just circle around or something. What's wierd here is that people just carry beer around with them everywhere even on the tram! So we're just sitting on the tram and at the second to last stop we realize "ok we've been going the wrong way for the last half hour". So we get off and take the tram all the way back.
Finally we reached to Kolej (residence) at around 4:45 and just fall asleep. As I'm sleeping I hear a knocking on the door. "umm mandeep everyone's waiting for us!"....oh yeh! I completely forgot we're supposed to be having dinner with samir today. So I just quickly get up and we go downstairs. Everyone is standing in the lobby and samir's like "are you okay?" "yeh I'm fine" "alright let's go". We walk about a block to some Buddhist restaurant. The food was really good and cheap. I had fried rice and vegetables. It was really delicious. Alright so i get the rest packed and now I have dinner for 2 more days!! Finally we come home and just fall asleep right away.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb