Czech Beer Festival trip


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
May 13th 2011
Published: March 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

well this is my first ever blog entry so please be kind.
I am all booked up to travel to Prague for the 4th Czech Beer Festival,I have been to two previous ones and enjoyed them so much a third has to be made and possibly quite a few more in the years to come.
The Festival is running from the 12th to 28th may and is being held in the Lentnany exhibition area to the north east of the city,this is actaully very easy to get to as it is on the metro line (last stop).
http://www.ceskypivnifestival.cz/en/
this link gives all the info.
I will be there from the 13th-20th may
I am going to be travelling with my good mate Andy and have booked flights and accommodation through Expedia.We are travelling from Edinburgh to Prague on a Jet2 flight, and are staying at the Hotel Chopin on Opletalova which is right opposite the main train station,this is also a metro stop on the same line as Letnany where the beer festival is based so it is easy for us to stagger home and not to far to walk with bursting bladders.
I stayed in the Chopin last year and quite enjoyed it,a good 3 star hotel ,very modern interior,good staff and a half decent breakfast,really what more do you need.this is also and ideal base for visiting the tourist sights but I don't intend doing a lot of that concentrating on the beer,resturants,pubs ,parks and the beer festival itself.
I will give more details of things i have planned later but what I intend to do is let you know how the planning has gone and what our main ideas are,going to keep things pretty flexible,but hoping to take in a football match or two ie Dukla Prague and Slavia Prague .Last year we manage to get to the last game of the Sparta Prague season where they actually won the league title,I was travelling with Andy ,my nephew Scott and his pal Callum ,what a great time and a great atmosphere at that game,hopefully it can be repeated again.Trips to Tabor and to Mlada Boleslav are also intended but what day were are going will probably depend on the weather but as both are easy to get to by train from Prague we will worry about that later. The only real touristy thing I want to go to is to visit the newely restored Strahov library,I had seen it during its renovations last year and want to see it finished,there is an ulterior motive to this as well as there is a very fine micro brewery about 50 yards away so gives us a chance to try some nice beer.
on my next entry I will try and flesh things out and let you know more of the plans but i think this is enough for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb