From a Teacher's Perspective


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
November 21st 2005
Published: November 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

The City of EnchantmentThe City of EnchantmentThe City of Enchantment

My home...I actually live here...woah!
Let’s begin with a small, apologetic explanation. When a student of society, culture, and language teaching becomes immersed into a city such as the one I am in currently in, he may forget that people thousands of miles away are still thinking of him. As I write this, I realize that I have neglected you, as I have been here 8 days now without an update. I will try my hardest to never let this happen again. However, here is the reason I am tardy:

This city has everything anyone has ever told me, combined with countless things that I have now experienced myself. Prague- Praha here, is truly the city of enchantment and mystery. Freezing cold days and nights, coupled with gothic architecture at every turn make Prague a delight to be a part of. I can’t really justify the experience with these words and pictures. It is like being in one of those Tom Hanks/Meg Ryan movies every time you step outside. Even the simple activity of walking from metro station to tram station brings the beautiful city to life every time. The experiences here give me goose bumps, as I know it will be hard to forget
One of those Priceless PicturesOne of those Priceless PicturesOne of those Priceless Pictures

This is not a postcard...I took this about 15 steps from my school.
everyone of them.

My school, INTESOL, is very nice. Right near the main square (Wenceslas), INTESOL has everything a good language school should have (man, that sounds like a tourist brochure!). Good, quality teachers, exhaustive resources, and a very slow internet…what more could one student ask for. Coupled with my 4 classmates, I could not ask for anything better. These classmates, however, have been truly amazing.

I have made a wonderful connection with the two Southern California girls. They are my age and they have never been to Europe. It is one of my jobs to acclimate them to European culture with constant trips to local restaurants, bars, and sites around Prague. We have done so much and have become so close over the past 7 days that it kind of scares me.

Yesterday was a great day. The girls, Jay, Hana the Hottie (one of our instructors), and I jumped into a train and headed to Southwest Czeske Republica to a small mining village called Kutna Hora. On the way, we were greeted by some beautiful snow, falling quietly and peacefully on the passing countryside. We played tourist for the most part, including a trip to
Charles Bridge and Prague CastleCharles Bridge and Prague CastleCharles Bridge and Prague Castle

I still haven't been to the castle, but I've been all over the vicinity...lot's of small restaurants and bars.
an ossuary church with everything inside made completely of bones. Human bones. From the chandelier to the alter throne, 40,000 complete sets of bones were on display to show the basics of mortality, that everyone will eventually die. It definitely proved its point. From there we hiked to the main Cathedral of St. Barbara, an awesome Gothic church from the late 14th century. As we walked there, we enjoyed the fact that a fine layer of snow had dusted everything in that breathtaking town, letting us literally go “walking in a winter wonderland”. It was a great town, with some unforgettable moments. I still say I won the snowball fight, but it is hard to do when you always get ganged up on.

Now I am here in my apartment, quietly watching the snowfall on our small street this Sunday morning. This wonderful city has captivated me, and I am hooked on experiencing even more. My prior qualms about this place are dissolving, quite like the unsticking snow as it hits the ground. I have, however, made my decision to come back home for Christmas, as I do miss each and everyone of you (Tanner and Riley the most…,
My lovely new friendMy lovely new friendMy lovely new friend

Yeah...I'm kind of a big deal (this is Julia Stiles, a famous actress, for those who didn't know)
sorry Mom and Dad).



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Just a little Absinth to get the night goin-Just a little Absinth to get the night goin-
Just a little Absinth to get the night goin-

Mom and Dad...I was forced into this by those mean California girls!!
The Girls with the BeersThe Girls with the Beers
The Girls with the Beers

The ample selection of Czech beers...what a tough time I'm having.
The GangThe Gang
The Gang

Hanging out with dead people...
A fresh requirementA fresh requirement
A fresh requirement

I beleive everyone has to do this when it starts snowing...even you, Grandpa!!
Kutna HoraKutna Hora
Kutna Hora

Literally walking in a winter wonderland


21st November 2005

hi from mom
Love the pictures. What fun! Wish we were there too! Stay warm.
21st November 2005

thanks!
ty, thanks for adding our name to you blog...wow, how soon do we need to make summer 2006 reservations! Bob, and Susan
21st November 2005

Big beer
Are those beers as big as they look or is it just the camera angle? Glad you are having fun. Dad
22nd November 2005

We are sooo jealous!
Hi Tyler, Abram and I were excited to get your email and hear about what you are up to in Prague! What a great decision! Between the girls, beer and architecture, sounds like you have it all! Abram told me to write that! Looking forward to your next installment! Mary and Abram
22nd November 2005

Can't Wait to Check out the Czech with you...
Only another month or so till im in Prague with you bro...can't wait...pics are awesome and everything sounds amazing
27th December 2005

great pictures
Hey Tyler- Im a MInnesotan, jazz musician, about to travel to Prague for the first time, and came to theis site to get some insights from other visitors. Your pictures and comments are compelling, and wondered if you had the time for some advice to me. Im finishing setting 4 poems by the poet RM Rilke (born Prague 1875) to music (you can download one of them, "Autumn Day" at www.georgemaurer.com to hear my style) while Im there, making some friends with some local jazz musicians hopefully to get them involved with some jazz projects I have going on with my band back herein Minneapolis, and taking some side trips to Budapest, Munich, Vienna...all from Jan 1-13, if you can believe it. Two questions......should I bring my laptop for journaling and music writing, or are internet cafe's not prevalent there? Would it be too conspicuous for would be thieves? Im just kind aplanning on wandering and avoiding too many touristy ploces and concentrating on whats real. Write if you have the time! George

Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb