Finally Updated!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!

First of all I want to offer a sincere apology to all of you who have been waiting for months for me to get around to updating my blog. I really do try to keep it current and I often find myself thinking of things that I want to mention in it, of course I then forget it all or get to lazy to type it up!

Now that my excuses are done lets get on with the fun stuff! I am still having a great time over here. Work is going well this term, it is a lot more low key and relaxing which is nice and well needed.

School

This term my class has started studying India and we are having a lot of fun with that, we are building houses, printing Indian fabric, and eating Indian food! I’ve obviously been enjoying this unit as well I’m still impressed with the amount of progress that they have been making. I may complain and whine (really only when I’m hungry) but I do really love my class and my job! I signed up to be the teacher representive for the school board. I’ve missed the first two meetings due to class constraints but I hope to make it to a meeting in the near future. I also signed up to hold an after school running club. Today was the first day of that; it went well even if it did remind me that I’m really not a runner!
The best part of school though is that my class has started swimming lessons. Every Monday we bring them to a local pool and they take lessons from Czech instructors leaving me to swim laps to my hearts content for a whole hour!

I’m not sure when I last updated this so I guess I better mention our spring show titled FEET!? It was held the second to last week of the spring term and it was a smashing success! A few other teachers and myself wrote and directed the show. We had five main toes who were going through a bit of an identity crisis, they were sick of being toes and wanted to be fingers. Each class performed a 5 min bit that somehow connected to feet and it was super impressive. My class did a rendition of STOMP. I have to say I have never been prouder of my students. They worked so hard to get their piece right and it really was a hard thing to do. I don’t know who had the bigger smiles backstage after they were done, me or them We also wrote a finale song that followed the tune of YMCA, we of course changed it to T-O-E-S! I will take credit of choreographing the movements to it. It has become somewhat of a sleeper hit here in Prague and you can still see it being performed at pubs around Prague (well at one pub and only when I get my friends drunk enough to dance with me!)

Spring Break

We were lucky enough to get two weeks off for the Easter holiday which I took full advantage of. I went to Dresden and finally got my visa, making me legal! Of course now that I have it I am stuck in the country until I can get a long term residency permit, which I will hopefully get sometime soonish. I decided to make a day of my visa getting trip so a school friend and I did all the touristy bits of the German town. Other then the biting cold it really was a nice day (full of great food!)

My friend Bryan came to visit me for a bit over a week as well. It was so wonderful having him here since he defiantly made life interesting! (Fist shaking in your direction ) He was even able to extend his stay for five days although I was gone for a few of those. I finally got to go skiing down a mountain! I went on a mini holiday to Spindle which is right near the Polish border. I only made it down two runs, but I didn’t die which believe me is the important thing here! Turns out skiing in the mountains is a bit different then skiing at Powder Ridge. I not only got (very) stuck in the turnstile to the ski lift but also fell very very spectacularly on my way down. I had moms coming up to me asking me if I needed some help, they had time to help me since their four year olds were skiing circles around me, literally. I didn’t fall at all on the second run though and although I had snow in places that I didn’t know snow could be I didn’t hurt myself!

Okay I will continue this update at a later date….I have school work to do


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb