A Trip to Italy


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
February 10th 2008
Published: February 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone,

Well my midterm break is winding slowly down and before I venture out to buy a pan to bake some amazing brownies in I though I should write a little update.

Life in Prague has been going pretty good. It’s the time of year here during which everyone decides what they are going to be doing next year. Sadly a lot of my friends here are at the end of their two year contract and are off to start some new adventures. I’m more then a bit bummed about them all leaving, but I have friends staying as well and in a city like Prague I’m sure to find more interesting friends

Just in case you’re wondering I am staying. I have a two year contract with the school and I have in no way quenched my thirst when it comes to European living!

Last week was only a four day week at school which was nice considering that I once again came down with a nasty bug. I was more then a bit realized to be told that it was tonsillitis again but just the bug that has been going around the school. Thankfully I only had to take one day off and the other days I just came home and went right to bed. I finally did make it to one of the schools in-service days on Friday though (I was sick during the last one). It was on ICT (computers) and it was pretty interesting. Thanks to Pam’s obsession with technology at Morris I had already been exposed to most of the programs that we worked with but I did make a pretty sweet video of my students which I can’t wait to show them!

After a few drinks on Friday night I had to get up far to early to catch my plan to…ITALY!! Caitlyn, a friend from home and Morris, is doing ELTAP in Padua which is pretty close to Verona so I just had to go and visit! It was my first time in Verona since I left (almost 4 years ago now!) and it was really nice to be back. I had a little misadventure on my way to meet Caitlyn but I feel that is a story that may be better told in person It was great fun though at the Venice airport, for some reason or another I was seen as a walking and talking information kiosk and in a matter of ten minutes I had over ten people come up and ask for help in what I identified as at least five different languages. The best one though by far was when someone asked me if I was from Africa and before I could answer proceeds to ask me a question in a language that I could not identify. Now you all know what I look like and for the life of me I can’t think of why someone would think of me as African….and that was the fourth time this year that I’ve been asked that! I was able to help everyone that asked me for help though….all my traveling in Italy finally paid off (I even helped someone while speaking Italian!)

Once in I made it to Verona I was able to show Caitlyn and her roomie Jessica all my old haunts and favourite places. And yes I rubbed Juliet’s boob again, I mean its not like someone can have to much luck in love! I even dropped in on my old host family for a quick hello. Sadly only Robbie was home but it was nice to catch up with him although I would have loved to see Magherita again since I hear she’s grown almost a foot since I saw her last! While in Verona I was also able to partake in the enjoyment of my favourite pizza, zucchini and mascarpone….mmmm good! I maybe put on a few pounds eating four of those but I want to say it was so worth any amount of time I have to spend on the treadmill!

After a day in a half in Verona I went back with Caitlyn and Jess to their place in Padua. I had never been to Padua before and it was great to go to a new city. It’s quite a bit bigger then Verona and the Center is huge in comparison but I found I had no problem getting around which was nice. I will try to post some pictures of the city once I get a camera cord from school I was also lucky enough to visit the school that the girls are teaching in. It’s an international school similar to the one I work at, but it was a lot of fun identifying all the differences! I spent the afternoon in a year one classroom which was a nice change as well. The kids defiantly needed more support but they were so sweet! I received quite a few compliments there that I will treasure for all time…of course in true kid fashion they sounded sweet but did have a way of adding a not so tactful bit at the end that made me laugh for quite a while!

Sadly I was only able to spend two days in Padua and then it was back to Prague on Tuesday night. I have now successful spent the rest of my holiday reading (my fingers are covered in so much ink from my book that I can’t get it all off no matter how much I wash them!) and finishing up some school work. Thankfully I’m almost all caught up with my work and with another hour of work tonight I should be caught up and a bit ahead!

Well I am off to Tesco because really I can not wait another minute to get started on my brownies! Take care and I miss you all bunches!

Love
Rach


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb