The man of the house.


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have a slight problem. I forget the name of the man of the house. I like the man of the house. He is a good man. The man of the house designs bridges. Cool!

Rules:
1) Always take off your shoes when entering a house. Just DO IT.
2) If an elderly man/woman gets on the bus/metro/tram and you are seated, GET UP DANG IT that man/woman needs the seat more than you do!

Today, the homestay kids and myself began the day meeting outside the coffee shop by the metro at 11:30AM. I was really tired and had to roll myself out of bed (literally roll, i have a bump on my elbow). No, I'm just kidding.

We met and after communicating greetings, we proceeded to head toward St. Wenslav's Square where we found the Tesco which is like a Target if you will. I was slightly perturbed because after doing all my shopping I was informed that there were 4 floors more than the ONE i stayed on. I purchased some cool looking notebooks that look like they should be for children going to school in the 80's. They were really cheap. I also bought a large aresol can of hairspray that is really tall. It was also cheap. I like cheap.

Maoira was upset because she blew her converter while she was watching a movie on her laptop, smelled smoke, and then realized all the outlets in her room weren't working. She wanted to go to an electrical store to buy a new one and while she was there, I went back to Tesco to get some postcards for my lovely loves at home including parents, sibling, cousins, aunts uncles, professors, neighbors, and friends.

Imagine if my homestay parents were two dogs.

We thought we would head toward our home quarters and took the metro to Prague 4. We saw a pizzeria and went to go eat in it. I have been noticing that a lot of places to eat contain a staircase to walk down to get to the main area. I had a pizza Margarita which hit the spot because I was starving. I really should not say I am starving because I am not really STARVING, simply a tad hungry. Discussions were had, along with movies including Gone, Baby, Gone. Maoria liked it, I on the other hand did not.

The next thing we did was visit each others homestays. This was the most interesting thing for me to do because I wanted to see where everyone else lived and who their "parents" were after hearing about them for such a long time. (well like 4 1/2 days). First we stopped at Molly and Alice's homestay. There are like 5 small floors in the house and it is kind of modernized. Their host mother's daughter and grandkids were there and we thought the little baby girl was a boy and someone was like "He is so cute"- the mother then corrected her saying "oh no, this baby is a girl. she is just wearing a boys shirt". Later Alice said she heard us saying "he" and she wanted to suddely correct us by saying like "yes DOROTHY is a cute baby". It was funny.

Next we went to Liz's homestay which was the most beautiful I think. I picture Katherine Borowczak's mother living in this house with Uncle Jimmy because it was kind of on a back street in the woods and it was like a mini- toadt hill house. The parents came home as we were leaving and the mother was dressed so nice, including golden embroidered stockings. You could tell she was a fancy lady. The father is some kind of movie composer.

Continuing on our Journey, we went to MY HOUSE. I was a little nervous because I never told Daniela that the girls were going to stop by (hah). However I was like what the H Heck. We all gathered into my foier, took off our shoes, and entered a house. Daniela was sitting at her computer and the girls came in (hah) and she was very excited to see them. Immediately, she offered them tea or coffee then after seeing my room we came back up and Daniela gave us all a piece of DELICIOUS chocolate/vanilla marble ish something with a B cake. Everyone asked for it and it was delicious. It was sprinkled with sugar.

The conversation proceeded to mention animals such as the monkey that was hanging off the light and cats and dogs. I then proceeded to ask "Where is Freddy"- Daniela brought us into the other room where freddy was sleeping on the arm chair. The girls followed. I then noticed the man of the house was sleeping on the bed in the living room, stiff as a board under the fleece blanket. I immediately put my fingers to my lips to avoid any noise because I did NOT realize he was sleeping right there. Daniela was laughing, saying "Freddy sleeps there", pointing to the dog and "Papa sleeps there" pointing to the man of the house. All the girls were confused because they did not know the man of the house and Daniela slept in the living room. (It is a cosy house) Everyone was laughing and they are amused by the fact that I always call him "man of the house" because I am not sure if they are married or if he is the father. In due time, In due time. However at this point, it would be plain rude to be like "So, What's your name again?" at this point in the game.

For dinner Daniela and the man of the house made pork (I ate it BEFORE I asked what kind of meat it was), steamed potaters, and steamed veggietables. I only ate the string beans and broccoli out of the brussel sprouts (I KNOW RIGHT!), and OH I TRIED a cooked carrot. Can't say I'm a fan.

TOMORROW I have to wake up at 7AM because I have to be at school to ADD/DROP classes already! POOP!

LOVE YOU BECKY
WHAT?
OK COOL.
BYE.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb