Other Photos of Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » New Town
June 7th 2022
Published: June 7th 2022
Edit Blog Post

National Museum of Prague National Museum of Prague National Museum of Prague

Photo does not show how the museum was overrun with at least six classes of students of all ages, plus a couple of tour groups. I dropped my bag off in the cloak room and toured rooms as quickly as possible, then left the noisy buliding.
I spent this morning (Monday) in Prague in museums. Then I took the train back to Vienna, a nearly five hour trip, which is bearable in first class. There’s more room in the seats and fewer people in each compartment. Today is a holiday here, and the cafe compartment was always busy. I was happy to have the book about Empress Maria-Theresa to read.

It was good to visit the national museum in Prague, in the modern part of the city. A good reminder how regular people live the same lives in cities all over the world while tourists fill the historic streets and buildings. There was a sobering, informative display about the Nazi invasion during War II. So much evil towards innocent people, and even more violence to those brave ones who resisted. The second building had displays about Czech attresses and actors, another good insight to what makes people tick in this country.

Prague is an easy city to move around in, until you get to the train station and look for the platform for your train. Where did all the signs in English go? I heard two fellows behind me talk about Vienna, and the three
On the way to train station I stopped at ‘Museum’ metro station On the way to train station I stopped at ‘Museum’ metro station On the way to train station I stopped at ‘Museum’ metro station

Which pronounced in Czech sounds much different than I would say it…..I think their version is prettier
of us banded together to find platform 6J. Took some doing, but we found our train to Vienna.

Today is my last day in Vienna and then I head towards Italy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Early evening beforeEarly evening before
Early evening before

I thought streets would be quiet on Sunday evening. I think there must have been a holiday here because the streets were crowded with tourists, artists offering to sketch portraits, musicians panhandling.
Even the river seemed busierEven the river seemed busier
Even the river seemed busier

with more boats on the water, plus a few duck paddle boats
People pay to put on coats and sip drinks in icey roomPeople pay to put on coats and sip drinks in icey room
People pay to put on coats and sip drinks in icey room

I saw this in New Zealand, too. I did not go in, but it is funny to think that Canada has many months were people could do the same thing for free. ha ha
Line ups for this traditional Czech sweet Line ups for this traditional Czech sweet
Line ups for this traditional Czech sweet

I didn’t stop to try one, too long of a line
CrowdedCrowded
Crowded

Not as nice walking around compared with early morning. I would like to visit Prague in wintertime.
Authentic Czech restaurant for supper last night Authentic Czech restaurant for supper last night
Authentic Czech restaurant for supper last night

It was still uncomfortably warm and the only air was coming from open large window. I made sure my order included a cold beer.
Goulash Czech style Goulash Czech style
Goulash Czech style

Which is quite rustic. A whole yellow pepper was difficult to cut, same goes for the chunks of onions, but the gravy was full of flavour.
’Royal’ plate of beef ’Royal’ plate of beef
’Royal’ plate of beef

It came with too much prime beef and thick bacon with mushrooms and herbs. No carbs except for bread in the basket. A good meal for two people, if you ordered some potatoes.
Evening consertEvening consert
Evening consert

It seemed like a fundraiser, but a nice way to end the evening.
Back to national museum this morning Back to national museum this morning
Back to national museum this morning

More impressive statues in front of museum.
main boulevardmain boulevard
main boulevard

I am glad I went here because it reminded me that Prague is a vibrant, modern city. All of the places I have visited are too, when you are in residential or suburb areas.. The historic places draws in the tourists, meanwhile regular people are shopping in the same kinds of grocery stores as in Canada, going to and from work, living busy lives.
Powerful display about Nazi invasion of Czech townsPowerful display about Nazi invasion of Czech towns
Powerful display about Nazi invasion of Czech towns

Sad history that is being repeated in Ukraine now.
Disturbing history about Nazi invasionDisturbing history about Nazi invasion
Disturbing history about Nazi invasion

In past two months we have learned about the cruelty of Russian invaders. I wish this repeating cycle would end.
Town totally destrozedTown totally destrozed
Town totally destrozed

Sobering history that makes me wonder how deep in the impact today. After the Nazi invaders were defeated, another cruel system took over, communist dictator.
High School studensHigh School studens
High School studens

In the displays there were facts about resistance, but sadly too many of those brave people were caught and murdered.


Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb