DAY 69 VIS ISLAND (Village and Port of Komiza)


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Vis
July 31st 2023
Published: July 31st 2023
Edit Blog Post

I’ll begin by saying that at this point in time, Komiza is by far my most favourite of places in Croatia.

After doing something I haven’t done in years, sleeping over 7 hours straight, I was refreshed and ready to experience what the day would bring. An ocean swim. Swam like I was in my late 20’s early 30’s. Stroke was long and easy, kick fast and strong … all because … the high salt content had me so buoyant. Loved the feeling. Onto a little breakfast before sitting with my legs over the side of a yacht under sail as we cut through a sea so, so rich in its blue. The only thing missing were dolphins leaping out of the water at the bow. At times we could see not a soul in a 360 degree sweep. I liked that.

Docking and paperwork completed it was onto the pier and the walk along the waterfront. Each couple had gone their separate ways. We ate a small bruschetta before Jane headed back to the yacht to change into swimming attire while I went off exploring the lanes, buildings and small Komiza coves. It really is a marine village
as small dinghies and fishing boats clotted the port. Not too large tourist charter boats were about too. The vistas were sensational and exactly what I wanted to see. The big upside was that there were very, very few people around.

I returned to the yacht for my swimming gear and headed for a swim too. I joined Jane, Mel and Alesija who were already in the water. So refreshing. We stood neck deep chatting about the island and the yacht. Mel was able to give us information about the history of Komiza and some of the going-ons that occurred in times past.

The evening saw Jane and I stay in Komiza while everyone else was picked up and taken out of Komiza for a meal with the trimmings. We enjoyed a simple meal on the cool waterfront with the village and boat lights reflecting off the water setting a beautiful scene. One to remember.


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement






Sighting Komiza







Moored.











Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb