One legged Pirates in Omis


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Omis
May 8th 2008
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

We woke for breakfast and were told that Teddy had accompanied Ami for a late night swim. Ami had a fear for swimming in the sea so after a few drinks built up some dutch courage and decided swimming would be a good idea. Well, I think it was going ok for her until she had to get out. Two words “sea urchins”, adding a third "ouch".

One place where there were no sea urchins is Zlatini Rat, Croatia’s nicest sand spit. That was our destination for the morning swim, it was a cracking day so the water was amazing and clear. Nathan, Teddy and I skimmed stones for a good while until our arms almost fell off. The rest of the morning was again spent relaxing, listening to tunes and looking forward to lunch.

We docked in Omis in the early afternoon and it was time for most to search for pirate or sailor costumes. Omis was founded by pirates so there were odds and ends at shops all over. Nic and I had salvaged most of our outfits from the beach the previous day so decided to hit the beach and have a swim.

After an afternoon siesta it was time to start preparing our outfits. Nic made herself a parrot and skull and cross bones bandana while I made a couple of eye patches for us. A shower curtain rail fit my ear perfectly for a giant pirate earring. I tied on a skanky old comb and a mug to my belt and stuffed an old wine bottle in my pocket. We both made wooden swords, drew beards and scars on ourselves and my finishing touch was to tie on a plank of wood that would act as my wooden leg. It was hard to walk on but worth it. There were some great outfits and everyone got into the swing of things. That night we also had the captains dinner which the chef prepared. It was a good hearty steak meal, perfect for a pack of pirates. The captain shouted us all a few drinks, and shortly after I decided to bust out a toast that my mate Fitch taught me, he would have been proud. Anyway seeing we were on a ship I thought it was appropriate. It goes like this:

There are good ships,
And there are wood ships,
There are
ships that sail the seas,
But the best ships,
Are friendships,
And may they always be.

Cheeeeeeesey, I know, but if ever there was a time for that toast it was then. I think we were pretty lucky with the group of people we had together. Usually there are annoying people or people that you might clash with but everyone seemed to get along. The night seemed to fly by. I remember Nic and I having good yarns to Belly and Leah, talking about Will Ferrell movies with Bluey, having another Tequila Boom Boom photo shoot, dancing on tables, "Arrrrrrrrrr" pirate yells, plenty of sword fights including Josh having his arm cut off and various other hijinks. The funniest part of the night for me was when Jordan and I became acquainted with the wooden figurehead lady at the front of the ship whom for some reason we named Amelia. Jordan has some of the photos which he is going to release to the highest bidder, but be warned she was a rather promiscuous girl. Even Teddy can confirm that fact!



Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



22nd July 2008

Great toast mate. It brought tears to me eyes and I'm sure it was almost as poignant a moment as when I tried to bust it out on our boys campervan trip. I think you all called me a fag and someone even dealt me a fearsome blow to the forehead. You are all a pack of unsophisticated swine. Love the pirate outfits as well! Ooohh arrrggg indeed.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb