Hvar Island


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Hvar
May 2nd 2012
Published: May 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 1

Well today we spent a bit of time just wandering around Hvar town. Most importantly we found a coffee bar that sold semi-decent coffee! (oh how I miss really good coffee!!). We spent the morning walking around the beautiful coastline then headed back to the hotel for a little rest. Well it turned out to be a really long sleep then a lot of nothing!!

For dinner we went to a little authentic Croatian place. We knew it was going to be interesting when the owner was out the front carving a big piece of smoked meat with a huge knife and there were chunks of smoked meats hanging from the ceiling and the menus were held together with old iron hand tools (eg mine had a hammer) !! The food was incredible! Dalmatian ham is my new favourite thing! We had drunken figs for dessert which are dried figs stuffed with almonds then soaked in their own homemade liquor! Crumbs, that was some strong liquor!! Tasted better than the turps we were served in Dubrovnik though!

Day 2

Today we went on an off road tour of Hvar. We jumped in a 4wheel drive with a couple of Germans and a couple of Canadians and our guide. It was a great tour. The guide was really passionate about Hvar and took us to some beautiful spots. He knew pretty much everything about the island! I was quite amazed that for such a small little island it had such a long and important history! The drive on the bumpy road in a warm car wasn't a brilliant idea though because my eyes were heavy and my head was nodding in no time!! For lunch he took us to an abandoned village where there happens to be a restaurant! Go figure! We had a traditional Croatian meal of lamb, veal and potatoes cooked under the bell (slow cooked under a metal bell and covered in hot coals). It was Awesome!! The rest of the afternoon was spent driving to a couple of the other towns on the island. Our guide dropped us off at the fort on top of the hill (thank goodness because it is a long way up with a lot of stairs) and we saw a bit more of Hvar. Honestly if you are thinking of going to Croatia then you definitely need to visit Hvar!

Day 3

We decided to stay an extra day in Hvar instead of going to Split. We hired a little boat with a 5HP engine (for those of you playing at home, Chris's speedboat is 315HP,so... quite small!). We headed off to some of the little islands not too far off Hvar. Not too far but it took a while in our little boat! We found a little restaurant for lunch and enjoyed the views of the sea. Well the wind had picked up during lunch and of course the sea was pretty darn rough by the time we got on it! (Chris will interject here and say it wasn't that bad but to me.... I was sure we were about to die! I had checked out the emergency equipment and found NO life jackets and only 1 rotten oar!). Sure to say, I was very happy to be back close to Hvar island! I spent a good while working on my tan and no... I didn't get one, I just got more freckles!! For our last night we had a beautiful dinner and the I had the best fish I have had in a long time!! The restaurant had a fish tank as their floor which was pretty cool, with a few little sharks, lobster and fish!

Day 4

Today we caught the ferry back to Split and spent the day wandering around the old town of Split! The main street was full of little stalls mainly selling wooden things! There was so much that I wanted to buy but stupid Australia and their laws, I wasn't sure what I could bring home and what I couldn't, so I didn't get anything!). We drank a lot of coffee, sat around a lot and stood outside a few restaurants using their free wifi, all waiting for when we could jump on the overnight ferry back to Italy. The check in process was a whole lot easier than last time as we managed to do it at 10am when we got off the other boat! Yep, heaps less stressful! And so we said goodbye to Croatia. It was a great experience and I loved every minute! I would go back in a second!

(By the way, the ferry lifts don't have sensors in the doors so if you stick your hand in to stop the doors closing..... They still close! I nearly lost my hand!!! Ouch!)

Xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Some freaky stuffSome freaky stuff
Some freaky stuff

Our guide took us past this 'Museum' where this weird guy made all sorts of 'creations' out of parts of dead animals. He had a disclaimer that no animals were harmed in making his sculptures... He only used animals that were already dead!


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb