CHHHHHHHHaarlem


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » East Flanders » Beveren
July 5th 2007
Published: July 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's so funny, how being in the Netherlands for more than two days, I begin to pronunciate the words with CHHHHHHH in front of everything. We go to ask directions somewhere, and when we ask, "Where is Voorschoten?" they look at you as if they haven't ever heard of that place before. But when you re-enunciate it as "Voorschhhhhoten", they say, "Ah! Yes!" and give you the directions promptly. I found myself reading things and putting an automatic "chhhhhhh" in everything. "Oh look, they serve mocchhhhhas here!" Their language is really neat, but it sounds like you're clearing out your throat after every third word!

So I hate to back track, but I didn't get to talk about the Anne Frank Huis. It was well worth the wait in the rain, and it was amazing to hear the entire story and see where she lived. However, leaving there, left me saddened and left me feeling despair. It was a very sobering place to visit, knowing that she barely missed liberation, by a few months, and died at a concentration camp from being ill.

It was also a very sobering thing to talk with my Grandma about this young girl (Anne Frank). This girl was approximately around the same age as my Grandma when she escaped Nazi troops and fled to Bavaria. My Grandma said that she is in awe that God had a different plan for her. I also agree, as I wouldn't be here either if she hadn't have made it, and I appreciate God's sovereignty through such a difficult event. It is hard for my Grandma to recount, but it has been good for me to learn my heritage and where I am from. How hard it must have been for her to return from hiding on that farm in Bavaria, to find her home bombed out and everything in it, destroyed. All of these events have made her who she is today, and that helps me to appreciate her, and her story even more. Even more, it helps me to appreciate that God's hand is over it ALL.

Let me just say, I LOVE the fact that the Dutch ride bikes everywhere! I have not seen one obese person, and I know that has to be due to the fact that they begin riding bikes EARLY in life and they do it till they are old! We saw a little boy about 3 years old, riding without training wheels!

Today, was my favorite day so far. We visited Haarlem, which houses the Corrie Ten Boom Haus. It was a highly inspiring time for us. We were able to take a one hour tour, very personal, led by a believing Dutch woman. She was very insightful and the Ten Boom family desire was not a legacy of them being heros, but was a testimony to the faithfulness of God and to serve Him in obedience. I walked away with such hope, all of the family members had a legacy of forgiveness, despite the vicious treatment they had received from the Nazis. It was also a chance for me to understand my heritage again, and all the stories that my parents had shared about the Ten Booms came to life for me, being in that little house. I walked away a changed and blessed person.

Overall, I have enjoyed the Dutch culture, they have been a very hospitable and friendly culture and they LOVE to speak English. They are very eager to speak English when they figure out you are from America.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb