Embark!


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
June 22nd 2011
Published: June 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello, My name is Olivia.

I know that's cliché, starting off with my name. But how else am I to start off politely without a greeting and a name to put a face to?

For this summer, my parents and I have decided to take a trip to the "AOS" as I say, or "Almost Other Side." We are referring to the world of course. Europe is the place we'll be!

I am literally in the plane right now
, and I'm thinking about how I'll spread my ideas on the trip. The first thought I think is Blog? Naw to lame. But after a few seconds, I'm typing this. Of course there is no internet when you're god knows how high up, so I'm improvising.

This is for my friends, my family, and Rick Steves as a "I'm temporarily taking your job. Whatcha gonna do about it."

I've been thinking about this for awhile. Being a Doctor Who fan, I see all the fantastical things about space and time travel. Matt Smith and David Tennant pretending as though they've seen it all, but haven't, and playing the character that enjoys it all the same.

It then occurs to me that we haven't even left Earth for a few hundred miles. We haven't gone to foreign planets, and haven't met any new life, at least anything we can confirm. The world is all we have so far, and we should see all of it first before we move on. I'm not going to think about how I'll most likely never see any new planets, and I'll be dead by then. I'm not thinking about that right now….

~ Olivia

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb