Bustling through Brussels


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
April 15th 2006
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I survived my trip up to Brussels and even managed to find my B&B in the outskirts of town, in the dark. Booyah for Sarah! I took the most uncomfortable tram ride ever up to the Helmet district and found this little townhouse where I was staying. The owner, Karl, was really nice and I had a great room. In the morning I had a nice breakfast to steel myself against the drizzly rain outside. Then I hopped the tram back down to the North station and walked south into the old center of Brussels.

I stopped off first at the cathedral, then made my way to the Grand Place with all the ornate buildings around it. It kind of reminded me of Venice for some reason. I also took a little detour down a side street and saw the Mannekin Pis- the little fountain of a boy peeing. I think it's a bit overrated. I had more fun watching the Japanese tourists scramble to get a view than actually seeing it myself.

I spent over three hours in the Musee des Beaux Arts, up on Museum Hill or whatever it's called. It was awesome and I think
Mannekin PisMannekin PisMannekin Pis

The actual fountain is in the upper right corner. Lots of fuss over such a little guy!
that is one of my favorite art museums. I saw lots of paintings that I liked and didn't like and lots of artists that I can't remember now, but the Rubens were awesome and the modern art section wore me out.

I then got my first of two waffles and walked around the city a bit more. So I had me a belgian waffle in Belgium! It was just a plain waffle, but here they're sweeter than a regular waffle at home. My second waffle had chocolate sauce on it and was soooo rich and very messy, but oh so delicious. (You can tell I don't eat particularly well when I travel alone.)




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The Musee des Beaux ArtsThe Musee des Beaux Arts
The Musee des Beaux Arts

I loved this inner courtyard


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb