A Hot Day


Advertisement
Published: June 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday, June 5 we headed early to the capital of Belgium, Brussels. My parents had lived there in the mid-50's and during that time my sister Jeanne was born.
We took the train and it was so peaceful ! A great alternative to driving with the heavy traffic that exists in Brussels.

We walked around the Grand Place and visited the Mannekan Pis. I eyed some chocolate covered strawberries which we returned later to purchase!

We purchased tickets on a hop on-hop off tourism bus and enjoyed riding on the 2nd level of the tour bus. We listened with our ear pieces to the history of Belgium and saw many historic churches and the Royal Palace. We learned that the Belgian throne is secure as the present Prince and his new wife desire many children. I thought that was funny.

We hopped off the bus to see Brussel's entry to the World's Fair in 1958, the Atonium . It is an amazing structure, however the atmosphere was crazy with kid's rides and lots of people!

We went back to the Grand Place to enjoy a late lunch., however the restaurants were crowded and many were closed untll the dinner hour. On our search we witnessed 2 parades and I appreciated the cultural diversity of the crowd!

We completed our bus tour and decided to head back to Bruges for a more peaceful environment and quiet dinner. I was amazed with my parents and their energy as we walked much and didn't have much to eat.

Our day ended with a traditional Flemish meal and my brother and I treated ourselves to a Belgian Waffle Sundae, quite the rich treat. I could only handle about 5 bites!

It was a HOT and LONG day, but I learned much and continue to feel so blessed to have this experience!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Mannekin PisMannekin Pis
Mannekin Pis

Amazing the crowds this famous statue attracts.
Little boys looking at the Mannekin PisLittle boys looking at the Mannekin Pis
Little boys looking at the Mannekin Pis

I love boy capri, they are the rage here in Europe. I wonder if Bruce would wear them?
Tricia's favorite treat!Tricia's favorite treat!
Tricia's favorite treat!

These were SO good. Belgian chocolate and strawberries!
One of my favorites!One of my favorites!
One of my favorites!

I hope my one at home looks like this !! Right Bruce??


6th June 2010

GREAT BLOG PT!
Makes me feel like I'm there!
6th June 2010

AtoMium
It's Atomium, PT, but that's OK.
7th June 2010

Prayers leading / following you
Thanks for the blog - great to be able to follow your adventure. Continued prayers for you and your family! Looking forward to "seeing you" on skype next week!
7th June 2010

Great Pics!
Seeing your pictures reminded me of going to Brussels when I was in high school with my parents. I even remember the french fries with hollandaise type dip. They were delicious but I agree, not so healthy. I put up your blog web address and a couple of pictures on our bulletin board at church this morning. Can't wait to hear about your adventures in the Congo. Best of travel luck as you journey onward! God bless you, Linda
7th June 2010

Amazing
Tricia: It appears that you are packing in as much as possible!!! Amazing photo's and the food looks wonderful! I'm trying to stay updated with your blog! What a great way to share with us!! Take care! Peace, Scott Cose
7th June 2010

Tricia looks like u are having a great time peace be with u and keep having fun.. Alice

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb