Trains et francaise


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
June 22nd 2008
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

On train from Frankfurt to Brussels (I think..).
The platforms for the train to Brussels were rather awkward so there is a good chance that I am headed to Amsterdam at the moment, but I’ll worry about that when the time comes haha. I’m pretty sure I was where I was supposed to be. This layover in Frankfurt went MUCH better than the last nightmare here..haha (I’m still ticklish, and not a security threat, no matter what the Germans say). Anyways, I ended up meeting this girl from Alberta who was on an “around the world” tour by herself for 8 months (And you all thought I was crazy!). We had lunch and chatted about how Croatia is the new Greece, how she plans on working on a yak farm in new zealand, etc etc.
Train ride this morning wasn’t bad, but most definitely long. Thankfully it is the longest I’ll have from here on out =) At the moment I’m sortof taking over an entire train compartment (with computer and music) that is probably reserved, but nobody is here so I’ll worry about that when the time comes…I’m looking forward to going back to Brussels—I haven’t been there in a few years and already know I love it, thus will get to explore it a bit more in detail. Plus I need to find that street in the shopping district again…hmm
---
Actually made it to Brussels fine..trains went perfectly. Walked around town a bit when I got here, but I'm mainly just REALLY tired, thus will continue tomorrow morning with everything. CAN'T BELIEVE Spain beat Italy tonight.. not cool by any means..My french is getting some nice practice here. Does avoiding speaking English make a person come across as less of a tourist? I think theres a chance I'm going to swtich my languages back to French come fall rather than German simply becuase I'll get more use out of the french--and I'm already 4 years in, so may as well continue rather than being semi-competent in two languages..Also, decided it was une bonne idee to ditch my Luxembourg stop and visit folks in Hannover instead. Will keep ya posted..
Ok, sleepytime.. =)



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb