Add another stamp to the passport!


Advertisement
Published: May 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD!!!!


After boarding my plane in Philly, the cabin door closed and the announcements were given in both English and French. I couldn't help but grin and recognize that my time abroad is finally here!!! I arrived safe and sound at 9:55am local time in Brussels, Belgium. I met my roommate/group member, Natalie, at the airport (she arrived from Copenhagen around the same time) and we ventured to our hotel. It took a train, metro, tram, 45 minutes and Natalie's wonderful navigation skills to get us to our destination. The jet lag has seriously taken it's toll on me, so please ignore any typos or poor grammar. Shortly after we checked-in to the hotel, we prepared for our group presentation. However, one of our group members, Steven, was stuck in London, so we (Natalie, Chanelle the 4th member, and I) had to make last minute changes to cover his portion. All went well, but sitting in a conference room for 3+ hours after traveling for nearly 12 hours was quite trying. We just returned from dinner (it is about 9:30pm) and it is still light out. Absolutely wonderful! The weather is pleasant and the neighborhood of our hotel is very much a walking part of town. Our prof was paying for dinner, so I had tagliatelle with duck, eggplant, and zucchini, which was delicious!!! I enjoyed a domestic Belgium beer, Leffe blonde, which complimented my meal perfectly. I hope to soon get to bed, but a writing assignment for tomorrow still needs to be completed. Our week of morning lectures and afternoon company visits begins tomorrow, but our Monday evening shall end with celebrating Steven's 28th birthday!

I will write more when my brain isn't completely fried from traveling.

-eag

Advertisement



19th May 2008

Stink, Way to take advantage of the free dinner!!! Did you sleep on the plane? Did they have any good movies? Ly, Yan PS-your cat has been fed but continues to drool on my couch!
19th May 2008

Have fun!
Glad to hear you got there safely. I look forward to hearing about your various escapades. Drink some beer for me!
19th May 2008

blog
You're actually blogging...you win!
20th May 2008

finally
Wow that took me a while to figure out how to post a comment. That's probably why I'm sitting at a computer desk at work and your in Belgium...I always knew your IQ was higher then mine!! Well have a fantastic time and can't wait to hear about it and see all the photos when you get back.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb