Just my luck again!


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
June 15th 2006
Published: June 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Left the hotel and made my way back to the train station. It was obvioulsy market day as the street was closed off and everyone had set up their stalls selling fresh fruit and vegetables among other things. Found a little corner coffeeshop/bar where i stopped for a morning coffee and pastry. I couldn't believe at 9:00 in the morning they were still serving people beer!

Made my way back to the airport and had to wait an hour before the check in opened for my flight to Reijkavik with Iceland Air. I was travelling on a stand-by ticket so have to wait until they close the flight, usually thirty minutes before departure. I was told there was only one seat available and as long as no-one tried to check in in the next couple of minutes i would be on. I sat there all excited thinking that surely no one would try and check in this late and what do you know......a couple come running in at the last minute!! Just my luck!!

So i didn't make the flight and the next one available was leaving the following day. There was no way i was going back to the hotel i had stayed in the previous night!!! So sat down to decide what the hell i was going to do when the idea popped into my head to go to Belgium. I had always wanted to go to Brussels and it was only an hour and a half away by train. So jumped on the next train and a couple hours later i had arrived in Belgium. I made my way into the town centre to find some accommodation. Was hoping to find a youth hostel but couldn't find it. I found a dingy looking hotel...once again i was desperate. When i went up to the room i got the shock of my life. The room was so tiny with a single bed, there wasn't even enough room to lay my suitcase on the floor. There was a little bathroom which had a small basin and where was the toilet??? Yeah that was down the hall. So decided to check out and pay the extra money to stay in somewhere decent. The Ibis was right next door so checked in there and for not much more money got a massive room with all the luxuries.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb