Arrival in Bruxells


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
March 1st 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

We flew into Brussels last night. It seemed like it took forever. I had to take a two hour train from Florence to Pisa. Wait in Pisa for three hours. Two hour flight from Pisa to Brussels. Hour Bus ride from Brussels Airport to Main Town. Taxi cab ride with some crazy Moroccan dude that was taking corners at 30 miles an hour. But we're here.

We went out and ate at a kabob place that had a much bigger selection than the kabobs in Florence. I had roast chicken and fries, and per belgian custom, drenched the fries in mayonnaise. I wouldn't recommend this, it doesn't taste good. Just goes to show how the French like weird food. Also I had a guy try and pickpocket me but I was much more aware of it because two nights ago a Italian dude lifted my cell phone, which cost me 100 euro. Anyway, enough of my troubles. I'M IN BELGIUM.

we went to a bar that our hostel manager recommended. it was on some dead end street and was the only bar open when we got there at 2 in the morning. it was well worth the wait. the place had some 2000 beers and the bartender spoke good english. the beer was incredible, as it should be for the country that invented it. i had one called St. Iselblad Blonde and the winner of the Best Beer of 2006 in Belgium, Rules Triple. I am sure we will be going back there tonight.

ANYway i'm just drinking some coffee at 8 in the morning and typing on our hostels computer. the hostel is really nice with a big reception area, free coffee, and nice beds. Belgium in general is a really cool city. much more modern than florence but still not like NYC or another american city. it has many more businesses, but also small cobblestone streets. we came in when it was raining last night and it gave the city a really cool look.

well i'm off to the EU to see where the european union works, then maybe a nap and some sightseeing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb