A rainy day in Brussels


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
November 12th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BrusselsBrusselsBrussels

Grand Place
I spent one day in Brussels on the way back home, mostly to do some shopping, to buy lovely Belgian chocolates for christmas (but don't say anything to my parents).
I have been to Brussels several times before and already done all the tourist stuff more than once, but Brussels is a nice city and it's always nice to return there. I had no problems finding my way around, and of course visiting Belgium gave me another chance to practice my French a bit more. As in most French-speaking countries you tend to get much better service if you speak French.

I had a long walk around the city centre but it was quite rainy this Saturday morning, so not all too enjoyable.
In Brussels they make a big deal about being the centre of the European Union and there is a lot of merchandise on sale related to the EU. For example I found a t-shirt with "Do it like a European!" printed and then cartoon photos of all the 25 EU nationalities.
You have to figure out yourself what "do it" refers to. Absolutely wicked!!!

In Brussels I used some frequent flyer points for a free stay
BrusselsBrusselsBrussels

On the way from the central railway station to Grand Place.
in the new Radisson SAS EU Hotel which opened just a few months ago, it's located 2 mins walk from the Luxembourg station in eastern Brussels.
The hotel was quite far from the main sights, but since it was right next to the Luxenbourg station it was very easy to get to and from the airport, and still fairly easy to get to the main points of interest by metro.
The hotel was OK, nothing wrong with it, but it did not make a very big impression on me and when it comes to both service and amenities I have stayed in much better Radisson hotels in other cities.
I heard they charged 25 euro for the breakfast for example (it was included for me) which is quite a lot considering the size of the breakfast buffet, it was not that large.
Anyway I had a nice stay, nothing to complain about.

Next I'm off to London for a quick visit, more shopping I'm afraid, then it's time to go home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

BrusselsBrussels
Brussels

Grand Place
BrusselsBrussels
Brussels

Many nice outdoor cafes at Grand Place, but obviously not many customers this rainy day.
BrusselsBrussels
Brussels

One of many small narrow streets in Brussels with excellent restaurants. Seafood is usually a speciality.
BrusselsBrussels
Brussels

The entrance to the nice shopping arcade Galeries St Hubert.
BrusselsBrussels
Brussels

Inside Galeries St Hubert.
BrusselsBrussels
Brussels

Grand Place again, at least it has stopped raining.
Radisson SAS EU HotelRadisson SAS EU Hotel
Radisson SAS EU Hotel

My hotel in Brussels. I used some frequent flyer points here so the stay was completely free, with breakfast included. OK hotel, but I have stayed better Radisson hotels in other cities.
Radisson SAS EU HotelRadisson SAS EU Hotel
Radisson SAS EU Hotel

My room in the hotel.
BrusselsBrussels
Brussels

Brussels North station on the way back to the airport.
BrusselsBrussels
Brussels

The bright airport terminal in Brussels.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb