Belgium...yea


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Antwerp Province » Antwerp
March 24th 2006
Published: April 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today i woke up at about 8 am and took a shower and french braided my hair, I call that my traveling hairdo. I went to the tube station and topped up my card to get to Heathrow...Surprisingly it only cost me a pound to do that, so that was refreshing and it only took like 45 minutes to get there, not the hour i had planned on. Then, i went to check in for my flight to Brussels. it was through bmi, so i just had to use the self check in machines which were quite easy to use. Also, since i wasn't checking baggage, I had a lot of time to look around the airport at the shops and what not. I had breakfast and waited for my plane. It was on time! YEA! And there weren't many people on it either. I really like bmi, it is a lot better than Ryanair, which is usually what i fly...i slept the majority of the flight thanks to the eyecover thing Bernie and Patti gave me. I got to Belgium pretty early around 2 pm and took the train from the airport into the city. it only cost me 2 euro! This trip was already off to a good start. I got to brussels and Brian ridgers, my professor from FIE, was right! There really isn't a whole lot to Brussels, beside the EU headquarters...So i got the next train i could find to Gheel. I decided to get that out of my way first and then i would stay there the night. It was about a 2 hour train with a switch halfway through. When I got to Gheel I first tried to find a hotel to stay, but there was only one that was open (because the tourist season hasn't started yet) and that one was about 30 minutes out side of gheel.....gggggggrrrrrrreat! So, i just walked around looking for the cathedral of st. Dymphna. And i found! Oh heck yea, did i find it alright. But I couldn't go inside because it was all locked up. There, supposedly is a shrine inside of the church to her and a bunch of her relics. But I coudn't get in!!! i was so sad...But hey, at least I got to see the Cathedral!
Then, I got on the train and went back to Antwerp because that is where there are hostels and things. So, that is cool. When i got there I saw a really good looking Tourist Hotel directly across from the train station! And it was really, really nice and only cost 30 Euro for the night with Breakfast. After I dropped off my stuff in my room, i decided to go see the city and find and internet cafe to let people know that i am alright afterall. I couldn't find any, but i found a cute little bakery and bought a croissant. I asked the girl about the internet cafe, but she didn't speak English. She told me to write down what I wanted so I wrote e-mail and she took me to the back where she had her own laptop and told me to use it!!! Wow! It sure was nice of her, because this is where i found out that Ross was chosen as our Ugly back at SNC for Deltas! YEa! I love my new UglyMan! Since, it was pretty late when i got done there, about 8pm, most of the stores were closed, and there were many expensive restaurants...so, when i saw a pizza hut and a small pizza was only 4 euro, i decided to get that for dinner. It was pretty good and I got a glass of red wine. I also thought it was funny because they had menus in five different languages. I got to use the English one, obviously, but i thought it was cool how they did that. Then, I went back to my room and did some journalling. I was putting things away and what not and I put my passport in my coat pocket and then the zipper broke, so my passport was locked in my coat pocket! GREAT! Then, i got the zipper undone, but it wouldn't zip back together, so luckily I had some safety pins and used those to "close" my zipper...I wrote a few letters and went to bed. Though, there were some high school aged students on my floor and they kept me awake for awhile. It sure was annoying. Then, but i had to go to sleep, because tomorrow was going to be another busy daY!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb