Saturday of my Trip


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
March 25th 2006
Published: March 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, even though i could barely sleep last night I was able to get up quite early (7 am) and get ready. I had breakfast at the Tourist Hotel where I stayed, which was included with my stay and I checked out. I went to the Train station, which was easy to get to because it was directly across the street from my hotel. I went in and bought my ticket to Amsterdam. I had about 20 minutes before it left, so i just decided to go to the platform and wait for it. I got on and pretty much slept most of the way to Amsterdam. When I got out, I went to Tourist Information to find out about somethings and when I asked the lady about Zuider Zee, she rudely pointed out that this was Amsterdam and I shouldn't be concerned about that as it was farther south in Holland. I told her that I was sorry and I asked for a map and had her point out some places on it. But she wasn't really helpful. when i got out of the train station, there were so may modes of transportation one could take in Amsterdam. One could walk, ride a bike, get on a boat, get on a bus, or a trolley or get in a taxi. For financial reasons, as well as time,I just decided to walk. So, I walked straight down one rode and saw about 10 billions signs advertising Heinekin beer. I think Uncle Steve will be glad to know I thought of him! Then, I magically stumbled upon a Russian giftshop with a ton of Russian dolls. I was talking to the lady and everything was made by her or her mother or her grandmother and they were from Moscow but now lived in Amsterdam and sold their dolls as a way of life. It was really interesting and kinda funny how I was in Amsterdam where Dutch is spoken, talking to a Russian in English. I guess, though, everyone does speak English for the most part and should have not been so surprised, but it sure was cool to talk with her. Also, it was nice because I was the only person in the store when I was making my decision and purchase and buying it. I wanted a purple Russian doll. You know, one of those that you open up and find another one exactly the same but smaller...well, she didn't have any and asked why in purple. I told her it was my favorite color and she kept trying to show me other things to buy instead. Finally, i was just looking around and all of sudden i saw it. A lilac purple Russian doll. and it was actually a music box so I definitely swiped it up while i could. Then, I was going to go to Anne Frank's house and I was walking down the street. And I felt very overwhelmed and I just couldn't go in. It was weird to think that they were discoverd at that house and while it would be cool to see the inside, i was just too scared and I haven't regretted it. I think I probably would have cried or something. So, I decided to go to a marketplace and look for some souvenirs. And i found a place with some really cool Dutch wooden shoes. I bought a couple pairs. I got one for myself and one for my mom as I know she got some when she was in Amsterdam. She let my sister and I wear them when we would play dress up when we were younger and I am pretty sure we ruined them. So, she can pick out of the two pairs I got which ones she will take. Then I just walked around Amsterdam for about an hour. I came to this big square in front of a museum or something. It was so weird because there people dressed up in costume and they were standing on platforms all around this square and people would take pictures of them, and then as soon as they would take the pictures the people would stick out their hands as if they were asking for payment. It was really weird. then, I just walked around the square and took a road and walked down it and popped in to the some of the stores just to see what was being sold. And i made my way back to the train station, bought my ticket to Brugge and becuase I had about twenty more minutes, I walked out the other side of the trainstation. which basically backed up to the ocean.... i think that is what it was, or some body of water, took some picture and walked back to my platform. For my train, I had to get on it and take it to Antwerp Central, again, and change to Brugge. It would be about a 2-3 hour excersion. When i was on the train i met a nice Dutch couple who had just gotten back from Oslo, Norway. THey were telling me how beautiful it was and how expensive it was as well. One can only take a plane or boat to get to Oslo...i guess there is no other way to get there. So that was pretty interesting to find out. They then asked me where I was from and I said Minneapolis and they were probably the first people I have met over here that when I say it, know what i am talking about without asking million more questions. They knew exactly where i was from. The lady asked me if that was the city with the big Mall of America..I told her that was the one. They left me a couple stops before Antwerp. When the train pulled into Antwerp, I had 10 minutes to find my train, which was right on the other side of the platform, so that wasn't hard at all. It was a really nice train and the people were really friendly on it. It was about another hour or so from Antwerp to Brugge. When I got to Brugge, I wanted to find out what it would be like to take a train back to london that night, or how much it cost to take on back on Sunday. THere was about a one hundred euro difference!!! So, i decided to get the train on Saturday. it would cost 20 euro to get from Brugge to Brussels and about 80 euro to get from Brussels to London. But back to brugge. at the train station I rented a locker to put my stuff in and then I got a map of the city and walked around to find the best shopping and the best CHOCOLATE!!! As Brugge is known for it's chocolate and lace. I didn't buy any lace, but I got a lot of chocolate. Seriously it was like Heaven. and Brugge, all the buildings are in the mideval fashion still. It was so beautiful, everywhere I looked there was somehting else to go and look at and explore. Also, I was walking along and noticed these canal tours and it reminded me of the Ducks!!! As one was coming in and I heard him say thank you for ride and have a great rest of your stay here in Brugge. I just wanted to be like "and the rest of your stay here in the beautiful Wisconsin Dells." But after he said tha t in English, he said it again in about 2 more languages. As Brugge is the tourist destination for most Europeans and they cater to the tourist and most of the tour guides, know about six languages. And I suppose they would being in Belgium and all....They would have to speak Flemish, French and German, and that is just within the coutry. They also speak Dutch, being close to holland, and English. Then, after walking around the adorable city for some time, I decided it would be best to head back as i had 30 minutes to catch my train to Brussels. I made the train and spent the trip repacking my bag so I wouldn't have to officially declare anything through customs. At Brussles I changed for the Eurostar. Which was quite expensive but a whole lot cheaper than taking it on a sunday. So i went through security and got on the train and headed back to London. At the stop at Lille, we picked up some more passengers and i met a family from East London, as they were seated next to me. They were really friendly and the children were absolutely adorable and very fascinated by the fact that I was from America, so that made me feel good. We finally pulled into to London Waterloo at about 930 and i was back at good ole Metrogate by 10. Jacqueline was home and bored so we watched the Wedding Planner.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb