Finally on the move


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
May 19th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I'm finally on the go, after 8 months of saving for the trip I'm finally away. I thought it would never come! I was driven to melbournes airport by my wonderful mother and received the emotionally charged farewell that we all expect from such situations! The flight with Thai airways went incredibly well. With more than half of the seats vacant I had plenty of leg room on the seats beside me, however this also meant a pretty lonely flight. With the first meal I decided to have a little celebration for the start of the journey and asked for a scotch and coke, only to have my age come into question, the thing is I haven't been cleanly shaven for 4 months! Once that was sorted out I ordered a glass of wine and a beer and was once again reminded of the effects altitude has on drinking! Haha. I slept very well after that! The second flight from bkk to vienna was much the same, few ppl and plenty of time to sleep! There was a noticeable change in attitude and kindness between the flights, going from a warm and friendly atmosphere to a colder, but not cold, one on the Vienna bound flight. Arriving in Vienna at 5:30am was tough. I had to drag my 18kgs of luggage around all day until I could check in at 3pm. Luckily getting into vienna was a breeze, jumping straight onto the u-bahn and within halfa I was in town. As the walking was so draining, I found a beautiful park near pratestern (near the big wheel) and relaxed by reading (sad but true) and sleeping! After checking into my hotel I sorted out a quick dinner and relaxed in my room and held off sleeping till 10 pm in an attempt to adjust to the local time quicker!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0904s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb