Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
July 28th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I did a bit of the sightseeing thing yesterday in Vienna, but it was pretty boring. I went to a couple of museums for the air conditioning (it was baking, and I've worked out you have a choice of big museums or supermarkets in that situation!). I think I might have found it more interesting if I had done a tour, otherwise the random buildings get kind of meaningless. It does seem like the best things to do in Vienna involve leaving the city though...you can get to Bratislava in an hour, which a few people did yesterday and recommended, and there was a bike tour they were selling on the coach which goes into the Wachau valley for wine tasting and swimming in the Danube and ends with a barbecue! I've got 2 days in Vienna after Bulgaria so I might try and fit both in.

I actually checked out of the hostel yesterday morning before I went out. I needed to get to the airport this morning before the buses started running, and if I had stayed it would have cost me 40 euros for the hostel and taxi together, just for a couple of hours sleep. So instead, I got there for 6 euros on the bus yesterday evening and slept at the airport! So that was the last I saw of Vienna, for now...and the story continues...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb