Rediscovering Graz


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Styria » Graz
September 13th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Statue/MonumentStatue/MonumentStatue/Monument

A religious statue/monument I walk by everyday.
Like I said yesterday, Eva, my teacher, took us out into the city for class, and sent us in varying directions to learn the history of Graz. Today, I retraced our steps and took some pictures and thought I'd share the things with you, since I think it's beyond cool and totally mindboggling to think about somet of these things.

P.S. Today's life lesson: Always choose American batteries. As I was walking around, I went to the Grazer Dom, or Cathedral of Graz, and was actually the only person inside there for a while, which was really cool. I walked around, looked at things, read some of the Latin inscriptions here and there, it was nice. I went to take some pictures, and of course, my batteries I'd bought in Slovenia were shot. I decided I'd come back, as I knew there was a grocery store close by that I could stop at and pick up some. I went to the grocery store, and after having a debate in my head about prices, I bought 4 AA batteries by an Austrian company, claiming long life. I then went on my way, stopping at school to take some pictures, and only
MariahilferplatzMariahilferplatzMariahilferplatz

I found a shortcut to school through Mariahilferplatz, Square for Mary the Helper. This is the church there in her honor.
got one picture in before the batteries died! I couldn't believe it! All 4 of them were shot! I went back to Spar, the grocery store, grabbed a pack of 8 AA DURACELL batteries, slammed them down on the counter, bought them, and stormed out. I then went back on my merry way to taking more pictures, stopping again at the Dom. I put all the pictures of the Dom together, though, so that it's easier to see them. Enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Die Reise in den HimmelDie Reise in den Himmel
Die Reise in den Himmel

A sign in Mariahilferplatz for a concert celebrating die Reise in den Himmel, or Journey into the Sky. In English, the Assumption of Mary.
Oldest House in GrazOldest House in Graz
Oldest House in Graz

You might recognize this building from my pictures of the Hauptplatz. It's actually the oldest house in Graz, where the prince resided. Directly to the left of it is Sporgasse.
SporgasseSporgasse
Sporgasse

A twisty, windy road leading right off the Hautplatz. It was created naturally by horses, and became a place to come to to buy and sell Pferde [horses] in the Middle Ages.
Notice Anything?Notice Anything?
Notice Anything?

Find anything a bit odd about this building? Perhaps the man jutting out of it?
The TurkThe Turk
The Turk

Graz was captured by the Turks when they tried to conquer the Austrian Empire. Well, everything in Graz was conquered except the Schloßberg. The story goes that a cannonball was shot from the Schloßberg at this Palais [city palace], broke through the window, and hit the plate of a Turk eating dinner, causing it to fly out the window. In an attempt to save the plate, another Turk lunged out the window, trying to grab it. And here you have him.
StatueStatue
Statue

A religious statue.
Grazer DomGrazer Dom
Grazer Dom

The Cathedral of Graz
WWI MemorialWWI Memorial
WWI Memorial

A memorial for WWI carved into the side of the Grazer Dom. Have seen a bunch of WWI memorials, and none for WWII.
Das GottesplagenbildDas Gottesplagenbild
Das Gottesplagenbild

Painted by Thomas von Villach in 1485, it shows both the oldest image of Graz, but also the three plagues that struck Graz in 1480: locusts, the Black Plague, and the Turkish invasion. It was rapidly deteriorating, though, from the weather, so is now behind glass [and there's a reflection which makes it harder to see].
Das MausoleumDas Mausoleum
Das Mausoleum

The Mausoleum attached to the Graz Dom. It houses some of the Hapsburg family, the rulers of the Austro-Hungarian Empire for over 600 years [up until WWI, if you can believe it].
The High AltarThe High Altar
The High Altar

The High Altar of the Grazer Dom
ChapelChapel
Chapel

One of the chapels inside the Dom.
OrganOrgan
Organ

The organ inside the Dom. What do you think about that, Geoff?
ChapelChapel
Chapel

Another chapel inside the Dom.
Left of the AltarLeft of the Altar
Left of the Altar

The area immediately left of the altar, notice the sarcophagus.
Right of the AltarRight of the Altar
Right of the Altar

The area to the right of the altar, notice the sarcophagus.
WeihwasserWeihwasser
Weihwasser

A whole bucket of Weihwasser, or Holy Water.
Das MausoleumDas Mausoleum
Das Mausoleum

The Mausoleum of the Grazer Dom from behind.
KFUGKFUG
KFUG

Main building of Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, my school.


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb