Sincerest Apologies!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Styria » Graz
December 19th 2007
Published: December 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Traudi Awards: Steierisch WineTraudi Awards: Steierisch WineTraudi Awards: Steierisch Wine

At an awards ceremony jointly organised by Kinderbuero and KiJa, our partner organisation, I couldn't help but notice the wine on offer.
Ok, I have probably now lost my entire readership by disobeying blog rule number one: Update regularly! So I hope you haven't all abandoned me 😊

A lot of small interesting things have happened to me recently, rather than one or two big wow type things. So I'm chiefly going to just let the photos explain what I've been up to for the past month. It has been an incredibly busy month, for various reasons, but mainly because of two major differences between my life here and my life at home. Firstly (and this may sound slightly obvious) I have a job. I have never had a proper job before. Certain things just don't occur to you before you get a proper job, such as how not only is your free time significantly reduced, but it is suddenly taken up with laundry and cooking and washing up and tidying your room and (in my case) German homework. And then the other half of your time is spent keeping up to date with the various acquaintances in your life. Which is the second major difference between my life at home - here, I have several friends who have next to no
Traudi CakeTraudi CakeTraudi Cake

This, somewhat alarmingly, is brioche decorated to look like Traudi, the little girl who looks quite a lot like Pippi Longstocking (but most definitely is not her! ahem) and represents the awards ceremony
contact with each other. So whereas at home 'friend time' and 'me time' can be neatly divided into two chunks, here I find that for the first time in my life I need a diary not just to organise my working life but to squeeze the social side in, too.

That actually sums up in a slightly large nutshell why I haven't updated in so long, too, although I wasn't intending to make excuses when I started. It's also why I'm so rubbish at keeping in contact with everyone at the moment. I'll get better, I promise.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

My boss at Traudi AwardsMy boss at Traudi Awards
My boss at Traudi Awards

Bernhard, my boss, is on the right, and Christian, who is being interviewed, is the KiJa boss. Traudi is an awards ceremony about children's rights. It's all very good, but Steffi and I still spent most of the night making a Traudi mobile.
View from the RathousView from the Rathous
View from the Rathous

A few nights later I was helping out at the children's mayoral elections and took the opportunity to take a photo of the Hauptplatz looking lovely.
I Just Thought Jonathan Would Like ThisI Just Thought Jonathan Would Like This
I Just Thought Jonathan Would Like This

Only two Euros a go I think!
Mum and Dad's visitMum and Dad's visit
Mum and Dad's visit

Atop the Schlossberg, looking down at the Hauptplatz again
Mum and DadMum and Dad
Mum and Dad

Looking pleases . . .
My Beautiful CityMy Beautiful City
My Beautiful City

Isn't it just?
My Name!My Name!
My Name!

Finally, after two months there, my name is outside my office. I have a nameplaque! (is that how you spell plaque, or is that just how you spell the stuff on your teeth?)
The Kinderparlament Christmas PartyThe Kinderparlament Christmas Party
The Kinderparlament Christmas Party

Children plus baking never ends neatly, this I've learned
Punsch!Punsch!
Punsch!

I made it! It was scrummy. I will make more.
Look at the prettyLook at the pretty
Look at the pretty

That there is Heidi, my KinderParlament colleague, possibly decorating biscuits.
Me and TanyaMe and Tanya
Me and Tanya

Tanya is a really nice half English half Austrian who lives in my building and attempts to sort out many of my cultural misunderstandings!
Snow!Snow!
Snow!

Antonio tries to clean the snow off his car
Snow!Snow!
Snow!

Look at the pretty :)


20th December 2007

it's niiiice! the staircase obstacle looked cool :) and the other pics are really nice too! Merry X-mas and Happy New Year!

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb