A backpackers view on Albanian culture


Advertisement
Albania's flag
Europe » Albania » West » Tirana
July 30th 2005
Published: July 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Tirana by nightTirana by nightTirana by night

The main square in Tirana by night
I'm at the moment in Ioannina, Greece, but before writing about returning to the European Union I wish to write a few thoughts down about Albania.
I already told about Shkoder fastly, but now after having completed my Albanian experience for this time, I wish to tell what I discovered about the culture. Since I'm only a backpacker going fastly through I offcourse haven't digged down into the Albanian lifestyle and do not know much more than others about Albania.

But here is what I found out.

Language difficulties


Firstly I noticed the language and was pretty fast trying to figure out what it came closest to. But honestly Albanian is a little bit of everything and still nothing like any other language I've heard. They speak as if they are mumbling, using sounds from the upper mouth. I was surprised when listening to it and being reminded of everything from Spanish to Swedish to Serbian. And still having absolute no idea what was said. Albanians also have the tendency, maybe because they don't see many tourists, to think that if they just speak slow I would understand. This has given me many both funny and confusing incidents.

One time at a hotel in Gjirokaster, when the woman in the reception continued speaking in a half laughing, half threatening tone about something according to the bill I got so scared that I had done something to make her mad that I mostly wished to run away immidiately. After half an hour she dragged me down to an office, where a man behind the desk could speak English. I was so scared untill I noticed that she had simply made a joke and tried to explain it.

They also sometimes try to speak English, but often mix up words.

When I at some point had to take a taxi, which I from a Lonely Planet guide knew to cost around 200 leke I got stunned that the taxidriver asked me 3000 leke. I was laughing believing that he thought me to be some stupid tourist to rip off. This was untill I understood that thousand meant hundred, wherefore, the price suddently became a bit more understandable.

A good advice for going to Albania; if you do not wish to try out the very difficult Albanian language then practise a little Italian. I found out that everywhere
Gjirokaster in the eveningGjirokaster in the eveningGjirokaster in the evening

Beautiful view from my hotel in Gjirokaster.
I went people spoke some way of understandable Italian. At least enough for a conversation.

Accommodation


Another thing that I have noticed through my stay. The accomondation can be dreadfull. In Tirana I got a really comfortable room and they showed out to be very nice. Though I had no light in the room and it was pretty expensive, it still stands as my ultimate accomondation in Albania. By claiming this I believe I should say a few words about my other accomondations.

In Shkoder I went to Rozafa Hotel, I believe it's the only or at least biggest hotel in Shkoder. I already explained my entrance to this hotel, but what I discovered later in the evening as I was sitting watcing Sopranos on the local television was that I wasn't alone. I had visitors. A mouse was happily running around the floor, looking hopefully at my pack of biscuits. Even though I have no problems with mice, I still have the childhood memory of the bookserie "The little house on the prairie" by Laura Ingalls Wilder, in which I strongly remember one incident where her father got his hair cut off in the middle of the night by a mouse. So being rather fund of my hair I went down in the reception where they quickly gave me another room for the night. The next morning I simply couldn't get myself to pay 17euro for such an evenings visit. The man in the reception concluded that I had changed room so no harm had been done, whereafter I threatened that I could close down this sad little hotel very easily with my knowledge. Even though that was a pretty empty thread it had the wished outcome and I got the price reduced to a merely 10euro. Thinking back on this, it is rather amazing that I, a young single traveller with a dead mobile, dared confront a deskclerk in a foreign hotel in a city that does not have the best reputation in the world. Wonder what went through me.

Continuing my accomondation experiences, I'll move the story to Gjirokaster where I first got a warm welcome from the joking woman, whereafter I entered a room with no ventilator and a toilet in the hall, which at my first visit was overflown by water from something that should have looked like a morning cleaning. Already half into the day there was no more toiletpaper at the still pretty watery toilets and I found myself lucky to have saved some from a visit to a café earlier. I hardly slept that night because of the heating and a continues noice from a big hanging poster of a political candidate outside my room, blowing wildly in the wind. But no mice happily enough!

All by myself


The last I will tell about my meeting with Albanian culture is the discoveries I made, being a single girl travelling. I had heard from friends that I should take care in Shkoder and not go to a café on my own, but except from my hotel experience I actually found Shkoder as the most interesting and cool town on my visit. I had no problems with anything except from some staring and whistling from men on the street. The people where really nice and I felt much more pleasant than I had expected. I went both for coffee and dinner on my own, feeling relaxed and comfortable enough. I also met some Albanian locals, among which one had lived in Bristol, England most of his life. I had a nice talk with them and a great nescafe, before returning to my hotel.

In Tirana on the other hand I couldn't help feeling on the toe all the time. Even though I mostly met nice people and the men where really helpful, stepping on each other to offer me help, I still felt the more free life of the capital to be a presure on my comfort. I had an incident with a man who followed me for a while, getting to close, even grapping my hand whereafter I with a history of teaching behind me gave him the mean look and told him to fuck off, which he did considerably fast. I also in the furgon/minibus from Tirana to Gjirokaster had a rather uncomfortable incident with the drivers son, who while believing I was asleep had the nerve to lie his fat hand on my leg. He also fastly regreted as I sended him a very alarming look. So it is not completely save to travel as a single girl through Albania, but as long as you make them rest asure that you do absolutely not appreciate there gestures you will be okay. I feel very happy that I chose to visit Albania on my travel and that I did it alone, but next time I visit I will wish for company of a friend or two, since it is difficult to meet people on your own in a country where there are almost no tourists to gather around with.

Tirana


Before ending this essay I will describe Tirana. It is absolutely not a beautiful city and you shall not expect to meet great culturel buildings and latin quaters and so on, but it gives a complete idea of communist design. Hoxha, the communist leader of Albania through many years, destroyed almost everything with culturel value, since most of it went against his hope of an atheist society. The main square and most of the city is build up in the ultimate communist idealism. After Hoxha, now when Albania starts becoming a democratic country, the Tiranians try to do theirs to fresh up the communist city. This gives out a gigantic color boom. All the buildings are painted in varius colors and you have an idea of meeting the rainbow on every street corner. The streets are destroyed, the asfalt somethimes even making small hills, while there just a little outside center has never been any modern roads. Here you find what you would expect from a poor suburban village in Asia. You see donkeys in the street and people are selling everything from biscuits and cigarettes to watches and mobiles. I was at first only interested in this to me poor and ugly city. It seemed not even close to beautiful. But then on my last evening I stayed out a little longer to get a goodnight coffee and I found that Tirana by night is not at all comparibel to daytime Tirana. The main square is lighted up and the colors give an expression of rich wonders. The governmental buildings as well as the national library, the palace of culture and the only remaining old mosque in town are all delicately lighted and you start wondering if communist designers had a fundness for the nightlife.

Private


I will end now, but first a few private things to add. I finally had my mother on the phone yesterday and she was delighted to tell me that I have been accepted to International Culturel Science at Roskilde University Center. Hurra for me... She also told me that my cousin is once again expecting a child! So congratulations Jakob. I also want to tell my younger cousin Andrea that I'm almost finished with the sixth Harry Potter book and that when I have returned and you have read the book aswell, I expect a call like last time. Last but not at all least. I had some news today that turned my stomach into butterflies and the day into being already fantastic. Dear Mitja, I'm so proud and so happy. I miss you tremendously and would wish I could be there with you!

Anna

Advertisement



15th July 2006

very helpful
this blog is not only interesting but also very helpful for people who might go to albania .
15th October 2006

was interesting read u culture sintes about albania. i lived there for few years and i find that place wondersful, old style and kind of mix traditions. i really enyoj. albania is a fresh, new country, everything is in continue chaing and thise is the interesting part of that. Shkoder is full of hotels, may bee u choose the chiper for that u have ''visitrs'' :))
2nd December 2006

from the author
I have received several negative comments on my blog on Albania. Many people saying that I don't understand the country and so forth . Well first of all this is a positive blog on Albania, because I really liked the country. Yes it describes strange situations. But those are what you live on as a backpacker. I'm writing my experences, good, bad, funny, scary...etc. If I was just to say I love, wonderful and most beautifull place in the world, then it wouldn't be a blog on my experiences, but very borring indeed. I like Albania, but also because it is different and because I found myself in strange situations concerning language and culture. And I think this is why I will allways remember it and hopefully return. This is why it was one of my biggest travel experiences. So to all you people out there who find that I do not understand Albania. Offcourse I don't, but I liked what I saw. Read the blog again and this time laugh at the strange situations. Then you might get the point. ANNA
17th December 2006

nice blog
I don't know why you have received negative comments on this piece. It does sound true and is lovely. Thanks for writting something up. Albania has its own cracks (some of them are huge ones) but its a different and interesting mix. Everytime i go there (from US) i feel like time is on my side. You should try to go in the summer though (with a bunch of people is less fun by yourself) the seaboard is really pretty and somewhat unhabited. Also in the south there are some cultural ruins and ancient religious monuments that escaped Hoxha's maddness. As for albanian you should learn it, it will come in handy once we conquer the world. I heard is easier if you already know Romanian.
27th December 2006

My Tirona!
Dear Anna, perhaps you described Tirana (Tirona as called in acsent) as it really is. Same impression gave to me that i missed it from 6 year. First of all the albanian language belongs like armenian at it own language tree, it's the oldest indo-european language. Our culture have strong otoman and turkish style cause we have been under them from 1398-1912. The ppl are mostly muslim (77 %) but so less beliver. Albania is a melting pot of turkish-oriental tradition, with our europian roots, it's wonderfull like ppl climate but indeed our economic problems to let us express as well our culture. When you stomach is empty there no time to think. Another problem is that we are a country that have been in alla existence as population in continuos war, physical war, agaist turks, serbs, greek, bulgarian, and spiritual one, against the poverty and the feudal slavery. We are well-known for our hospitality and good hearting persons. Lord Byron was impressed by albanians as he described us: Smart the sons of the eagle, so good with the guest and so rude with the enemy. Hope this information can make your ideas clearer for you next journey in our land. You are wellcomed.
1st January 2007

answer to my tirona
Albania is great and the people are extremely warm hearted. I'm certainlygoing back. The culture is fascinating and the history interests me. And yes the sons of the eagle are smart and my best souvenir from Albania was an emlem with that eagle. Hapy New Year to Albania and everyone else
4th January 2008

thank you
zofka i just wanted to say thank you very much for writing this essay, as i will be going to albania on the 1st of febuary to get married, i needed some infomation on the accomadation and the people there, after reading your essay i have booked another ticket for my mum to come with me for support and and friendship as after reading your essay i became very unsure about going. i just wanted to thank you again jade x
26th December 2008

Thank you
Thank you for the interesting blog on Albania.. I will make sure that when I go to visit, I will make sure that I do not go alone and ask for a tour guide.. What is the easiest way of getting around Europe.. I would like to go backpacking through all ove Europe.. I am very intersted in hostory and cultures of all the different countries.. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.. Thank you
26th December 2008

Very nice
Hello Evryone , my name is Enio and i am Albanian , well if you like to know abou our country , first of all you need to learn somthing about our culture our story. In a few thousand years before the europe called us sons of eagle. There begin our true story ..... :)) For years this country was isolated from the worl for different reasons. But i am honored to read your words about Albania. Well who knows maeby one day you will travel here . Paqe dhe dashuri mes jush - Peace and love for all .
20th January 2009

responding to H
You really don't need a guide. It might be best to really get to know more of the country, but Albania is not dangerous. It is a magnificent country with wonderful people.
9th April 2009

trip to albania
i liked your honesty in this blog. It is not easy to travel alone, especially in Albania. I was born and raised there and i still find it difficult to travel alone there. In many cases people are not used to dealing with tourists and that's where their ignorance comes out. But trust me you were lucky nothing happened to you. It is a very nice place to visit if you know where you are going and with whom. People in Albania are not used to see outside of their box. People with backpacks are not normal because it is not compatible with their trendy style in the muddy streets. In the capital, Tirana things are quite different, but it is still far from having a great experience comparing it to a weird one.
3rd January 2010

web royalty
I like this posting.But adding more information will make this site more informative. http://www.webroyalty.com
5th January 2010

webroyalty
Very Nice posting. I liked it webroyalty
13th July 2010

Very attractive country
I just wanted to know about the culture and its people in Albania.Very fascinated.
26th July 2010
Tirana by night

sd
pa lidhje

Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 32; qc: 97; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb