Scary Moment/ Today's events!


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
October 4th 2012
Published: October 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Community service projectCommunity service projectCommunity service project

Teaching the students how to tie their shoes... In spanish!
Tuesday morning, like every Tuesday morning, I was at my community service school. We were all supposed in a circle playing a game, but some of the kids were runnning around and not playing (they are 3-5 years old). I saw a little boy fall down and start having a seizure. I went to tell the teacher and was trying to get her attention but I think she thought I was a student and she was talking to another student so she didn't turn to talk to me. When I finally got her attention she ran to him and told me to go get alcohol from the director in the other room. I did, and when I came back she had her hands in his mouth so he wouldnt swallow his tongue or whatever and put the alcohol in his mouth. When the seizure was over, they called his mom.I asked her if he would be going to the hospital and she told me no, that he would probably just be going home.

It is interesting to me that even though Costa Rica has government health care, he didn't go to the hospital.. Maybe they just don't see seizures as that serious?.. Interesting.

Anyways, I am so anxious for my sister to get here! I can't really concentrate, which isn't good because I have a Spanish exam tomorrow. Today has been/ will be an excellent day. I found out that Sam booked a ticket to come here the end of the month. I also got to eat cake in class this morning!

Tomorrow, Janne' and I are going to get our toes done and then heading to the beach for the weekend!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb