still sailing


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

hey everyone. hope everything is going well at home. miss you all. it's getting a little better here, the ship is not as rocky, the weather is getting a bit nicer, and time keeps moving back. Classes started today, they seem all right. i decided to add a fourth class because it seems really interesting, i sat in on it today. Jess and I have been meeting some more people, and we have been hanging out with these two girls a lot. Ashley (from Pitt, actually) and Signey (from L.A.) They are really nice and fun to hang out with. We had "Sunset Social" tonight where they give you drinks on the upper deck and everyone just hangs out for about an hour. After that a couple of us played some card games and Clue to kill some time. There are a whole bunch of board games on here for people to sign out. We had this student life meeting today, where you can sign up for groups and such, so I signed up for the Social Committee (they handle all the social events, organizing, advertising, etc.) and the ambassador's committee (they handle the captain's ball, AND get to talk to people at the embassy in countries that we visit). I thought they sounded coolest so I meet with them tomorrow.

Oh, showers are very interesting on the ship with all the rocking back and forth and such. Yeah, imagine shaving--standing up in shower as the boat rocks from left to right and you see the water gather to one side. Not real cool.

So far we have travelled 780 nautical miles from shore, the ocean depth is 14,000-some feet, the speed is 18 kilots(?), and the nearest land is 1,000-some miles away (something Guadalupe). So.
I guess that's really it for now....I can't really think of anything else. Tonight was the first actual fun night I've had, I guess cuz i met some people. It seems like a lot of people have already formed their "groups" and won't let anyone else in, which sucks. but jess and i, and now those two girls have been hanging out a bunch and eating together and such.

Advertisement



22nd June 2006

Miss you...
Hey you. I just read your journal for the first time. Just wanted to say that I miss you (as if I dont bombard you with enough e-mails, haha). I hope you are having fun ;) I really miss you beautiful. Talk to you soon I hope. I love you. Bye baby.
28th June 2006

Board Games
God I hope they have RISK. I will email you soon, I'm super stressed with work.

Tot: 0.419s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb