Caribbean-10


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
February 24th 2022
Published: February 24th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Port Everglades is very noisy. Every truck in Ft. Lauderdale must be racing backwards up and down the pier. It’s a mild and sunny day and I am actually enjoying the hustle from my balcony.



Yesterday I was reading by the sea view pool when crew members started testing the handicap lift. It was fun to listen to the calls and suggestions from the bartenders and waiters. When the crewman was safe on deck I noticed two men in wheelchair watching the action. On of the men was helped onto the chair, fitted with a life vest and slowly turned out over the pool and lowered into the water. He was still bobbing around with a grin on his face when I went in for lunch.



The transit process was anticlimactic. We were told that the process could last a couple of hours. While waiting for all the guests staying on board to arrive, we hear that at least nine people who should have disembarked are still on board. They can try to hide be they will have to get off.



The two hundred or so guests who are staying on head in a group to border control where facial recognition cameras verify our identity rather than our passports. We are herded to a lounge area on the pier and just as we get settled we are told to go back onboard.



I word about dining. HAL has something called Club Orange. There are perks, mainly dining is a private dining room for breakfast or dinner. It is available for purchase but is also included for suite guests. Orange refers to the Duke of Orange, very important in Dutch history. Normally i would never be seen there but since it is included in my fare I find myself dining there most evenings. The staff knows me and is attentive without being in my face. The fare is the same as the dining room but i can go anytime I want without a reservation. It actually suits me for this cruise since I have no routine or plans.



Sail away is about four. I enjoy a chopped salad at seven and am ready to be rocked to sleep.



I have two sea days ahead before we stop in Sint Martin.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Port Everglades Port Everglades
Port Everglades

Dania Beach
Port Everglades Port Everglades
Port Everglades

My new yacht.


Tot: 0.711s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb