Caribbean-8


Advertisement
Published: February 23rd 2022
Edit Blog Post

We are sailing from Grand Turk. I understand why my niece and her family love it here. This is my third time it has been on the itinerary and the first when we have been able to dock. Still, without my cane I play it sale and stay on board. This is not a hardship for me. I am content to read and relax and eat and doze and watch my fellow cruisers.



I am distressed to learn that my dinner companions returned home early. Evidently, Sandy fell ill after Bonaire and she and Fred flew home the next day. I’m hoping she will feel well soon. I miss their humor and smiles. Received an update that she is feeling much better and resting at home.



The first night a dinner we were across the table from each other making small talk as one does and I asked if they had plans for the evening. Sandy said “I make it a rule never to discuss sex at meals”. I neatly lost it. I miss them.



Missed trivia for a couple of days as it interfered with my nap time. Plan to make up for it today. Theses last port calls are comparatively short with all aboard in the early afternoon.



I had my mandatory antigen test, am waiting in my stateroom for thirty minutes hoping not to have a phone call. My test conflicted with trivia and Happy Hour. Too bad, so sad. Tonight is dress up so after my nap I’ll put on my bib and tucker, whatever that is. No phone call so I’m good too go.



Gala night dinners are usually special and this one was too, especially bad. The selections left much to be desired but I ordered duck breast. It arrived cold so i sent it back and the warm duck was almost inedible. It was the poorest meal I’ve ever had when cruising. Or maybe it seemed that way because I didn’t have an appetite. No, it was the worst. I did’t expect it to be like my mother-in-law’s duck but this bird was so tough it must have flown cross country.



Tuesday we arrive at Half Moon Cay in the Bahamas, HAL’s private island. Again I stay on board, breakfast on the balcony, lunch in the Lido and bitterbollen for dinner. I first had bitterbollen in Amsterdam and love them. The are small fried breaded balls of cheese with chives and scallions served with dipping sauces.



Tomorrow I will have to get off to meet with customs and boarder patrol along with the rest of the “transients “. Then i can relax on board until sail away.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb