We'll sit beneath the mango tree...


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's hot. Really hot.
That's really all that has consumed my past day or so.

I had some pretty pictures. Mainly of just my mango tree and house, but I only have ungodly slow dial up internet, so no more pictures for now at least 😞

Kerry left early Tuesday morning after a glorious last day of laying on the beach. We had to walk a ways to find a good one, because apparantly if we went to the beach near our guesthouse we would not only get robbed but couldn't swim because so many people pee in the water during the festivities every sunday night. Given that option, we decided the sweaty walk was well worth it. And everytime I've sat down for the past 3 days I've been reminded of how worth it it was, since I fell asleep for a long time on my face, leaving the back of my legs a bit burned. So it was sad to see her go, because I won't see her until Christmas, and now all my fun in Tobago that I was looking forward to is over, and I'm all alone.

So after being spoiled for a week, I have to actually pretend to do the work I came here to do. I have a few more weddings lined up, and as it seems Clerene, the woman I am staying with in San Fernando knows everyone in the city, I'm confident more will appear. Right now I'm at the University for the day sucking up all the air conditioning I possibly can. It is good to know that some things are the same on all college campuses; the girl sitting next to me is on facebook.

It's nice being down in the southern part of Trinidad now. We live right outside of the second biggest city, in a little village surrounded by sugar cane fields. AND, there is a mango tree in my back yard!! So really, if worse comes to worse I'll just sit in the backyard gorging myself on mangos. I couldn't be happier. The coolest my bedroom has gotten yet is 86 degrees, it was over 90 in there when I woke up this morning. It's the kind of heat that wipes everything out of you. I took a nap yesterday, where I had to wake up twice and completely towel the sweat off, and then still was sound asleep at 9:30 last night. 9:30, I know that is impressive. There is one fan in the house that Clerene doesn't like to use because it is so loud. And she has a point- it sounds like a mix between a lawn mower and a jet taking off, but given the choice I think I'm going to pull out the handy ear plugs and use the fan.

It feels good to be settled. Kerry was joking that I don't even know where my next meal is coming from, let alone my next bed. And that was pretty accurate. After sleeping in 4 different beds the past 4 nights, I was happy to have a place where I can finally unpack.

And now you can send me all those letters you've been dying to send but just didn't know where:

171 Cipero Rd
Golconda Village
San Fernando
Trinidad

So while this is significantly less exciting than scaling those waterfalls in Tobago, I am still alive and well and eating mangos until I turn orange.

Advertisement



4th June 2006

Eat some mangos for me!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb