OK, have packed my scrubs, stethoscope and pocketbook of clinical medicine...


Advertisement
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Preparing for my medical volunteering trip...





I have been planning to be a part of a medical missions trip a charity in New York have been organising for a number of months now.
To be honest, I was so excited at the possibility of contibuting to such an awesome project and knew instantly when I saw it that I would be travelling with that team.

My biggest hurdle was raising sufficient funds to be able able to travel out there, but as time has passed, I've found that I have received mixed reactions to my plans, and that has been the biggest challenge so far.

A large proportion of the people I have shared my plans with have been supportive, but as with all things in life, there were a select few who responded in a not so supportive manner.
Not that they didn't think the whole idea of travelling wouldn't be adventurous, but more along the lines of 'it was not my sort of thing', to be travelling abroad alone and doing charity work- its too unsafe!

Well, I am stubborn in nature, and if someone tells me I can not do something, it usually encourages me to persist in completing it, and doing it to a standard of exellence. That's not to say that I didn't have doubts along this journey of deciding whether to do it or not.

So, I am looking forward not just to embarking on a personal journey of discovery, learning a new culture, spending time with new people and serving communities in need.. but also to proving my critics wrong and being an example to those people who have nay-sayers keeping them back from fulfilling their dreams and goals.

I'll be posting more blogs about how I'm feeling as the countdown continues... 😊

Stay posted and blessed friends!

Sab x



Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb