They've Put me on Atkins and Other Exciting Info


Advertisement
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

While I've been here I have taken a great interest in what is known as the Queens Park Savannah. Also known as the largest roundabout in the world, I think the area inside the roundabout (traffic circle to those of you not in the know) may be similar to Central Park and whatever they call the one in Spain, I can't remember, I think it is El Retiro. It is huge and essentially a park with a one way street all the way around it. Except for you can't see across it or to the end of it. Everyday when I go by in the morning, in the evening, whenever, people are out there playing soccer, playing what might be rugby, but I don't know exactly how rugby is played, jogging, walking, sitting and talking, whatever.

I decided this evening I would join the masses and chase sunstroke across the savannah. I started jogging from my hotel, I think I made it 15 minutes before I stopped and tried some coconut water. I don't want to tell you what that reminded me of. Needless to say, I wasn't a fan. And this is really too bad because I heard such good things about it, but more on that later. So about 6 hours later, when I was still walking around the Savannah (just kidding, like 20 minutes), I thought I was truly suffering from heat stroke. I saw a Gazelle running in the distance across the savannah. I stopped to admire the scene as the gazelle ran in and out of the various games, etc. As it loped closer and closer (which is relative considering how wide this sucker is across), imagine my disappointment when it was simply a stray dog.

I could leave you on this note, but I wanted to share a few other things with you. I figured that Trinidadians must be fit (except for all the fried food I keep eating) for all the exercising I see taking place, but then I found out this is a nation of Atkins dieters. For instance, this morning, my breakfast started with passion fruit and what might have been capers and finished with scrambled eggs and bok choy. Lunch was West Indian Beef Stew and green beans and now I've discovered I'm wrong because there were sweet potatoes, lentils, and rice. But anyway, I thought it was a good theory while it lasted. Tonight I ate flipper and some vegetables, no starches. Unless that was some sort of starchy tuber.

Now that I'm on a roll, I'll have to keep going, because I really do this to amuse myself. I know very few of you read this far anyway. All day long in my meetings, this group claims (and they are native Trinidadians) that this is a highly sexualized culture and that after a minute in any conversation, males will drop in double entendre or innuendo since I don't know French. And here I just thought everyone was really nice. Anyway, after hearing that all day and coming back to the guest house on high alert for inappropriate conversation, the chef comes up to me and asks what I want for dinner. And then HE ASKS IF I WANT TO SEE HIS MAHI MAHI. Thinking this must be code for something dirty, I declined. Of course you know I'm just kidding (about thinking it was an innuendo). And mealy mouthed old me says of course, I'll eat the mahi mahi for dinner. Oh wait, I don't really like seafood. Too late. I've made my bed and now I'm lying in it (is that innuendo, too?). So after eating flipper for dinner tomorrow I'll be eating swordfish for breakfast.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb