The Beauty in my Trini Backyard


Advertisement
Published: October 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have lived D'abadie for the past twenty years and never once have I looked at the Arima Borough as a place of beauty and significance in Trinidad and Tobago. Arima is literally a five minute drive away from my home in D'Abadie so hence the term "my backyard".




I have always attended the Borough day celebrations and Carnival in Arima but never have I given it a second thought as a place of great historical significance.




Doing research for this project has really opened up my eyes to some of the beautiful and historical places that Trinidad and Tobago has to offer.




<strong style="color: red; font-family: 'Trebuchet MS', sans-serif; text-align: left;">I took my five minute drive in to Arima this afternoon with the intention of making the Arima Dial my third must see destination in Trinidad but instead my focus was drawn to a grand gold statue on my right hand side as soon as I entered Arima. Bear in mind that I have never noticed this statue before but I have driven that route hundreds of times before.
<table class="tr-caption-container" style="padding: 6px; margin-bottom: 0.5em; float: left; margin-right: 1em; text-align: left;" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tbody><tr><td style="text-align: center;">
</td></tr><tr><td class="tr-caption" style="font-size: 13px; padding-top: 4px; text-align: center;">
Hyarima Statue</td></tr></tbody></table>



After I made the full circle of the Arima Veldrome, I was greeted by a statue of an Amerindian Chief named Hyarima who is the reason for Arima being named what it is today.




Though I did manage to visit the Arima Dial and the bust dedicated to Arima's son the late great calypsonian Lord Kitchener I chose to make the focus of my project Chief Hyarima.


My journey today though very informative it also taught me a life lesson "never ignore the beauty in your own backyard".




To learn more about TnT and to keep up to date on my journey check out:

http://trinitravelgirl.blogspot.com/2012/09/the-beauty-in-my-backyard.html



http://www.facebook.com/TriniTravelGuide?fref=ts

Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb