I LOVE Regatta Day!!!


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was our last day in St. Maarten and I spent a good chunk of it on tour with three of my teens. We did the America’s Cup Regatta where we went on actual racing sailboats, ones that have competed in the America’s Cup. We were each shown how to perform a certain task to help sail the boat. I was given the task of “Winch Wench” and I loved it! When I was assigned “Winch Wench” all I could think was I couldn’t wait to tell Centaurians that after being “Wenchie” on Regatta day at camp, I got to be a real “Wench” at sea! I loved it!

For the tour, we were split onto 2 boats and we raced eachother. Me and my teens and a half dozen other guests were on the Canada II and we raced “Stars and Stripes”. We won which was an extra bit of excitement for us. What was really cool though, was partway through the tour, I began to develop a feel for the boat. I picked up on the sailing patterns, could anticipate the commands I’d be given and could sense how much or little rope I’d need to give quite
The Canada IIThe Canada IIThe Canada II

Our sailing boat - and the winning one too!

accurately. It was exciting to develop a feel for what I was doing instead of just doing the physical moves I was ordered to do. I’d read of this tour (when I read about all tours) and wasn’t particularly interested in it. But I loved it! I’d actually be interested in sailing again some day.

It was gorgeous out on the water. Sun shining, crystal blue water sparkling, Philipsburg and the hills of St. Maarten as our backdrop. It was a really clear day and we could see across the water to St. Bart’s and Saba.

It was such a fun tour. I loved it. I like getting to see and experience a port while doing something fun and active.

After the tour, I ran into Brooks and we went into Philipsburg. We sat at the Firehouse (a restaurant/bar right by the water) and had drinks and a long chat. Lovely. I’m so glad to have found him and to have had a friend like him (and others) to share these fantastic places with.

At the end of the afternoon, I had a quiet moment with St. Maarten. I sat with my shoes off, legs over the edge of the dock by the yacht club. And I just looked around, soaking up the bay that has become so familiar. It was my goodbye to St. Maarten.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Teens On TourTeens On Tour
Teens On Tour

Sophia, Andrew & John


9th April 2007

WENCHIE!
Hehe... that is TOO funny! Glad you had an awesome time. GO CANADA! Perhaps you will one day buy your very own sailboat and sail around the World ;) Can I come? lol.
10th April 2007

Awesome!!!!
Those pics of ur teen friends are so cool! Hope it was a fun time! :)
11th April 2007

sailing!
theres nothing like being out on the open water...sounds like a fun day. all your days sound quite fun. im leaving for uganda in less than 2 weeks!!!! any final suggestions for packing?? thanks. love. a.
19th April 2007

Hey there Missy.....
I hope the change to the new tour is going well!! I felt like I was saying good bye to some of your final ports too! Your journals have been amazing. Things are great here.....thanks for the card and good wishes. The sun is shining today, actually this has been the second day, hooray. The weatherman is promising some great temps for the weekend. Hopefully spring here is to stay. Take Care xoxo Love the 'Auntie'

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb