Church and different cultures


Advertisement
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My last day in Puerto Rico was on June 18th, Father's Day, I decided t go with my father to Mass that Sunday. I had not been to Mass in Puerto Rico probably over a year. I had forgotten how diffeence the Mass isin the Spanish culture. I understand it because the Catholic ceremony is the same world wide but different language. One thing did strike me different this time, was how much prayer time and reflection is given through out the Mass. Here at home (New Jersey) I have yet to notice this difference. So on the flight back I started thinking and recalled a few times that I attended the Spanish Mass in the New Jersey,recalling it is the same practice as Puerto Rico, much time is devoted to prayer and reflection. I also recalled my grandfather's funereal here and there was a Mass during the funeral and the same thing. The questions this brings up for me are, more time to understand my culture and why are the ceremonies different if the same religion? I shall seek my answers through the only place I know would help with both; my Church.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb