Turn around and head back home


Advertisement
Published: March 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We have found paradise. Even the locals think that Playa las Lajas is paradise, and I have met a lot of locals.

We are camping on the beach under a long palapa, next to the Pacific Ocean. The waves are pleasant, and fun for boogie boarding/surfing when the tide starts coming in. I am always with company, because of various friends I have met around the place, even though it is not over touristified or busy on weekdays.

When arriving, Dad and I met some fellow Albertans from Edmonton. A couple, Darren and Sandra, and related Angie had five boys about my age. They were fun and we had a few adventures. Darren took us out boogie boarding behind his rented vehicle on the beach. We just held onto a rope behind the truck and glided along the surf. That was until of course you hit a sandy spot and went flying. Sorry but no pictures. Another day we took a boat ride to an estuary of brackish calm water. The owner of the boat was an Alaskan and supplied us with a kneeboard. Darren owns a lot near the beach, and is building a home that looks over the ocean.

Dad and I are practising our French with a Quebecois named Yves. He spends the winter at Playa las Lajas and goes back to his cabin in Quebec for the summer. It is very interesting to talk to him, partly in English and partly in French.

The family that owns the camping area and restaurant have become friends for me. The name of the restaurant is La Estrella del Pacifico which means The Star of the Pacific. All the cousins of the extended family, most my age, help with the restaurant. Talking with them has surprisingly allowed me to speak more Spanish than I thought I knew. All the kids, Panamanian and Albertan, took a hike up one of the hills that overlooks the beach. It was an adventure, as we ran into a wasp's nest, rock climbed a huge boulder, and waded knee-deep in a muddy bog. This is where I was introduced to most of the family.

One day a few of the cousins and I got together to dance salsa, bachatta and more. With the little dance experience Erika taught me, and with their help, I learned a lot.

One morning I spent a few hours helping Kelvin, one of the uncles, put up new lights in the restaurant. They rewarded me with a free meal. At the end of our stay, Kenny, the manager sat us down and asked us what we bought so he could make the bill. How trustful and nice!

And then, for the weekend we drove the five hours to Panama City. It´s ... not so laid back. We are only staying for two nights and then will head back to the beach. So far we have toured the canal museum and shopped. A Panamanian named Conroy guided us around the old city and then to the Miraflores locks. The old city is interesting and rundown, but provided me with a successful shopping excursion. I bought a guitar, and a few other tourist goods. We plan on leaving Panama City early tomorrow morning and I´m glad to have seen it.

Matt


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Supper with YvesSupper with Yves
Supper with Yves

Typical supper, fish or chicken, this time with no electricity.
Bridge of the AmericasBridge of the Americas
Bridge of the Americas

North America to the left and South America to the right.
Laundromat in Casco ViejoLaundromat in Casco Viejo
Laundromat in Casco Viejo

We thought Mom would like to get some laundry done here in the old city.


5th March 2007

Another great blog
Wow! Another very interesting blog. You are doing so well with your writing Matt! So glad you are learning those Latin dances. Erika is so envious about that! Looking forward to the next one. Mom

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb