Stupid Lonely Planet!!


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ocean WaterfallOcean WaterfallOcean Waterfall

One of the 2 beaches in Pedasi
This is meant to be the blog where I take a long while to bitch and moan about how incredibly awful and simply incorrect the Lonely Planet Guide book is. But I don´t have the ganas to go into it all anymore, except to say that I had let several inconsistancies slide because I thought they must be random, isolated instances, but I have now realized they are not and have written Lonely Planet and told them just a few of their flaws and explained why I would never be using their guide again, back to Rough Guide it is.
So, after lovely El Valle I went, having read all about it in the guide, to Las Tables and Pedasi on the peninsula. I was hoping to be by the ocean and relax for a few days. However the guide was wrong about both of these places and niether of them was anywhere close to a beach, the first was a $5 cab away and the second was over an hour walk away. Which I did, twice. There were two beaches to check out. Both more for surfing than swimming. They were very nice though and very deserted, it looked
The other beachThe other beachThe other beach

Ghost town beach
like an old beach ghost town... as though at one point in time these were happening spots. So, having felt like I wasted some more time seeing places which were not what I thought they would be I had it in my mind to head straight for Bocas Del Toro, be by the beach and stay for a bit... so I headed to David.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The bus I rode in onThe bus I rode in on
The bus I rode in on

No doubt about it, this is NOT a chicken bus!


1st March 2008

Bradt Guide
The guy who wrote for lonely planet and did a good job, does not work for them anymore. Too bad b/c the info is still from his orignal work! The brandt guide to Panama is very good and useful, accurate info.

Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 50; dbt: 0.116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb