of electoral processes, finding other voluntarios, and washing clothes in a creek


Advertisement
Nicaragua's flag
Central America Caribbean » Nicaragua
November 4th 2008
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oh yes, I am living with a candidate for the mayor´s office. She´s a member of the FLSN, the Sandanistas. All day every day there is Sandanista propoganda on the radio and all over the community. My new madre is never home because she is out campaiging. Yesterday there was a big rally and a fiesta last night. Of course, I was prohibited from attending since Peace Corps isn´t political. I will be on lockdown this weekend during elections, but by then I´ll be back in Los Laureles with my family. Interesting, though, as only about half are FLSN here, and the other half is PLC. Just happens that the Sandanistas are in charge right now.

I went and washed my clothes in the creek with the girls yesterday. Oh yes, I am adaptable. The well has already dried up on top of the mountain. Water´s gonna be scarce.

Nica beds suck. My right hip is bruised from sleeping on my side on a tiny thin mattress on a board. I will be happy to get back to Esteli and to my nice fachenta bed.

The cowboy INTA rep, Juan Carlos, came to my town this morning, but I was catching the bus in 5 minutes so only had time for pleasanteries. Which kind of sucked, but wasn´t gonna but off plans to come to town.

Am going to go try and find the other volunteer who works here, a volunteer in the health sector. Am gonna ask where the Health Center is, and, if that fails, ask where the negrita gringa lives.

Okay, off to find volunteers and catch the bus back up the mountain in an hour.

Ojala Obama sea presidente! Obamanos!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb