First day in Granada


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am here! I don´t have any pictures to post right now cause i left my camera in la casa! pero, todo es bien. Everything is great so far. Granada seems much safer than places I traveled in Honduras. It is a cute colonial town. Not too big either, only 180,000 people here. My day in a nutshell: did a walking tour of the town down to Lago Nicaragua, got in a truck and drove to a boat dock area and got on a little boat and rode out to las isletas. Apparently there are over 400 islands in Lake Nicaragua. It is the 10th largest lake in the world and the only one with freshwater sharks 😊 People buy the tiny islands and build really cool vacation homes on them. Our boat driver said they were really expensive - like around 100,000 dollars. Which really is nothing to us. Saw some spider monkeys and some other kind of monkey on one of the islands, but you shouldnt play with them because not only do they fling poo, they also bite. we docked at one of the islands and jumped in and did a bit of swimming. Water was pretty nasty. But really fun. We are going to a fiesta a la escuela in just a few minutos and then maybe out to a bar later tonite. It is going to a busy but rather fun trip! People are getting along so far and enjoying themselves. No one has gotten sick, but we just got here. Oh the house I am staying in is quite large and the dad is an artist - a painter. he does dali-like surrealist stuff. And he is excellent. The family is young and has two young boys. Anyway - I think this trip will go pretty quick!

OH and my spanish. Is so much better than I thought. I underestimate myself! A classmate is staying at the same house with me and she doesnt speak much spanish at all and i am the unofficial translator for her. I am pretty excited about that.

There will be pictures as soon as I can get to a computer again. Miss you all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb