Breaking rocks in the hot sun


Advertisement
Published: July 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

this is yet another update to say that I'm behind with my updates, which I will eventually get round to properly. I'm going to be in Granada in Nicaragua for the next month or so, working on a project to build houses for families who are living in shacks on private land ( which means they could get thrown off at any time). Only had a couple of days working on the project so far, but I've been mixing cement (with a shovel, no cement mixers here!) and digging foundations. The people in the community of La Prusia are really great, and I've met a few already who want to arrange English lessons, so I'm sure that will keep me busy as well. I'm staying in a volunteer house with 6 other volunteers, 5 of them from Spain, so my Spanish is still getting plenty of practice after hours. Granada is a fairly laid back colonial town on the edge of Lake Nicaragua, a good place to come into town to relax. I'm hoping to be able to borrow a bike so I can get into town easily, where we're living is about 3 miles out of town, but the walk is very hot! There's plenty to do in days off around here as well, like going to Isla Omotepe, up another volcano (seen a lot of volcanoes recently!) and other bits and bobs.

Anyway, while I'm here, I will get round to updating the blog properly and letting you know what I got up to in Guatemala.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0189s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb