Granada


Advertisement
Published: May 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

111

Iglesia Guadalupe
Things have changed a bit here since our last visit a year and a half ago. There has been more restoration work and more hotels and other businesses opening but there has also been an increase in crime and general seediness. There was an American ex-pat (who we actually knew from our previous trip) who was brutally attacked the night before we arrived and who died from her injuries two days later. I was approached in a cafe by a guy who---absolutely unsolicited and in broad daylight----offered to sell me drugs. I heard stories from both locals and ex-pats alike that crime is rapidly increasing in the city and that the local police is unable----or unwilling----- to do anything about it. I must admit, I noticed a lot of things here that I didn't remember from before and I felt on edge, maybe even a little paranoid, walking the streets of Granada.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

22
2

Calle La Calzada----------- They were working on this street a year and a half ago (when we were here last) and now have it finished about halfway to the Malecon (eventually it will go all the way). Primarily pedestrian now, there are lots of sidewalk cafes, eateries, etc. here.
33
3

Kids playing baseball. These guys would absolutely kick the crap out of the average Little League team...
44
4

Courtyard
77
7

Hotel Dario on Calle La Calzada
1111
11

Justine, my mom Elaine, me, Jelliot (please forgive me if I've misspelled your name), and my stepfather Randy
1212
12

Granada by night
1313
13

Inside the Convento San Francisco
1515
15

Me in the courtyard of Convento San Francisco
1616
16

Calle La Libertad
1717
17

Approaching Monkey Island in Las Isletas
1818
18

Monkey (upper right) on Monkey Island
1919
19

Las Isletas
2020
20

Mombacho from Las Isletas
2121
21

Sunset over Granada from Lago Nicaragua
2222
22

Parque Colon
2323
23

Facade of Convento San Francisco
2424
24

Lorena with the cathedral and Mombacho in the background


Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb