Chilling in Granada


Advertisement
Published: March 12th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Hola chicos, just a short blog to say I am still alive.


So flew from Costa Rica back to Nicaragua, at the airport realised my debit card was missing! doh!




Think I left it in an ATM at the supermarket in San Jose, cancelled and nothing been taken so all ok just lucky I have my credit card with me,




think the first time I have ever lost a card.




Unlike UK the money comes out first.....




Picked up by a shuttle at Managua airport and headed back to Granada, staying in an air bnb for 30 odd days.




I have a nice one bed open plan apartment, hot shower, kitchen, decent wifi and access to a real washing machine!




Is in a good location only 15 min walk into centre of town and 5 min walk to 2 large supermarkets.




Everywhere you walk still have views of a volcano lol, Nicaragua the land of mountains and volcanoes,



managed to get a few pictures coming in to land on the plane.

So what have I been doing with myself? Chilling mainly just living as would

Volcan MombachoVolcan MombachoVolcan Mombacho

Taken from the top of the cigar factory
at home but hotter!


Nice to be free from volunteer work, however also miss the activity and people...




Usually 30 degrees plus here in the day and 20's at night, no air conditioning but 3 ceiling fans which suffice.




I left a window open one night and was scared too death when something dropped down from the window, was just a little cat lol.




Must have scared him too as he ran into the patio doors a couple of times before finally settling down and sitting on my lap.




Met up with some friends I had made on my last visit, Greg, Nicole and Nicole's dad Al.




It was Als 74th birthday so we had a little party at their place lol aluminium hat making, bit of a crazy 74th birthday!




Also went to a near bye crater lake, Laguna De Apoyo is a clean, blue, and thermally vented 48-square kilometre body of water contained inside the crater of the Apoyo Volcano (think big warm clean lake!).




Had a small beach and a platform to sunbathe on, plus use of kayaks and inner tube

rings.


Use of a pool table, not in good condition lol, table tennis, bar and restaurant.





We spent the day here then went for pizza and too many tequilas for Greg and Nicoles last night here in Granada, moving on to San Juan del Sur, great people sure will see again....




There is a Belgian couple living above me and Ben works at the nearby Mombacho cigar factory, so went for a tour.




Quite a complex process for these hand made cigars, in an amazing building not like any factory I have been in before!




Got to make my own cigar!




My landlady invited me to texas hold em poker with her fellow retirees, lucky first day I won lol, will be a weekly meet.....




Occasionally pop into town to my favourite Irish bar for cold beer and watch footy/rugger, also play some good music.




Bit weird watching England lose at the rugger!




Quite weird walking round the city with streets lined with terraced colourful buildings that look quite run down




then look in a doorway to see almost

mini oasis inside.... not all though some are a bit dilapidated.


Roaming livestock, chickens and horses seemed normal on Ometepe but still the same here wandering around the city! lol




My landlady has netflix so been watching lots of stuff on my laptop, may seem weird hiding indoors but its too hot to stay outside




and as so much time here can spread my sightseeing out, but think I have seen most things now except not hiked the nearbye volcano yet.




I have 2 more weeks here then move on to my next place Masatepe, about 40 minute drive west of here near Masaya Volcano, looking forward to a change of scenery and have access to a swimming pool.




Will be a bit more rural and a longer walk to the supermarket lol, I am there for approximately 50 days before heading back to Costa Rica for my flight back to blighty.....





Adios


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Random horseRandom horse
Random horse

It was eating out of the bin!


13th March 2018
Who you looking at?

Hey Marko
Great to see you. that cigar was massive!!!! All looks great specially that crater lake awesome !!! Enjoy bro! All the best! J.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb