visas and the need to restock and rejuvenate


Advertisement
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Okay. So I just saved directions for the visa stuff onto my memory so I can take it home and read it over again. Basically, we filled out the form. He has to fill out a supplemental form, also, that asks things like names of mothers and fathers and military service and last 3 jobs and my contact info and if he has specific travel arrangements made yet. Which he doesn´t. Because it is in bold print NOT TO BUY TICKETS until after the visa is procured.

So. Questions answered. Fill out two forms. Go to Bancentro (no Bancentro in Somoto, which means we go to Esteli or Ocotal) and pay $131 - in córdobas - and get a pin number to call the USA for 8 minutes to set up the interview in Managua at the US Embassy... and then we go to the interview in Managua with the forms and the receipt and hopefully within 3-5 days we can pick up his passport and visa at Bancentro.

I am just ready to go home for a break. Seems like most of my group has gone home already for a vacation. Lots in July and August. I want to wash my clothes in a washing machine and dry them in a dryer and have them smell like clean laundry. I want to see fall. I want to visit my brother IN COLLEGE. I want to buy new sports bras. I want to bake blonde brownies and have cheddar cheese and apples. I want good ol Chinatown Chinese food. And Mexican food. And Dad´s white chili.

And I want Lenin to go with me so I can show him everything.

I need to go home and rejuvenate and restock for my 2nd year here as a Peace Corps Volunteer.


Advertisement



24th August 2009

I can understand
Man I can understand all of that, has to be stressful being separated from all that you know and love for so long and under those conditions!
26th August 2009

Oh,......
Oh, my Molly Bethy.......we love you and miss you so very much, too. You know how weird TIME is....seems like it was last week that you were here, but at the same time,....it seems like YEARS and YEARS. *YOU'VE* always been the one who has been away......not us. So, things kinda stay the 'same ol, same ol' around here, with changes of age mostly, while you're away and around the world and doing and experiencing things that we know of only through you. You go away and you age and you experience and you grow and you change. Sometimes it's impossible for us to totally relate to you and your growing world, with things staying relatively stable around here. In a positive, but slightly selfish way, it's nice that you miss our humble homelife here. Time to come home!!!!!!!!!!
26th August 2009

OK,
OK. Will have the apples and cheese waiting. And the hot water heater turned on high. Keep us posted! Are you bothered with ticks down there? Chiggers? You mention mosquitos by the million, but haven't heard you talk about ticks and/or chiggers. No worries; I'll have the OFF! ready for ya!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb