of mail shoutouts and attempts at cooking... and how in the world is february done!


Advertisement
Published: February 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mail shoutouts! I got a FLOWER DAY CARD!! from one cdougher of Chicago! And an envelope with candy and a very much needed card from one eicenogle of DC! Thank you both, I needed to receive both of those today...

So yesterday was rather productive. First, I gifted some of the hot chocolate packages from the lovely clandrus and creiter to Lenin, as well as some of the vitamin water packets from Mom.... and he in turn gifted some to his family.... so all afternoon yesterday, as I was hanging out in Uncle T´s backyard watching them make chairs - remember he´s a carpenter - and all of my male cousins are aspiring carpenters and work with Uncle T.... hanging out and having fun with the boys and my 12 year old cousin, Krishtel... while she made refrescos of the vitamin water packets and tried making hot chocolate... and I had fun watching all of the teenage boys fight over the glasses of sweet goodness.

For the afternoon, Krishtel and I attempted to make ¨no bake cookies¨. Just milk, sugar, chocolate powder, vanilla, peanut butter, and oatmeal.... I think we used too much milk and not enough oatmeal though, as they ended up being a gooey mess that we had to eat with spoons... but a delicious gooey mess! Peanut butter is astronmically priced here and we used up the last 3rd of the jar that I bought months ago. Today I am going to buy more oatmeal and a bunch of peanuts and we are going to MAKE peanut butter for the recipe.

Cooking in Nicaragua is an adventure. First, they use woodburning stoves and castiron pots. I am not used to that. However, my aunt and uncle next door have an electric burner and a gas oven - in addition to their woodfired stove. So although I bring things to the abuela´s house and usually eat there, now THE AWESOME BOX OF SPICES THAT MY DAD SENT ME is in my aunt´s house..... because if I´m going to cook, I´ll cook there.

The politics of it all is hard, too. I pay my abuela for food and bring food to her house, as well. I know I can walk in any time and eat. There is always a pot of beans on the stove. She has made it clear that when I´m hungry, I should walk in and serve myself. But I prefer attempting to cook in the Aunt´s house next door. But if I cook anything, it is expected that I share it with everyone, or at least let them try it. So while I want to make some pasta for lunch, I need to make pasta for the family. I´m craaaaving french toast. Working on finding wheat bread. Have eggs and cinnamon and syrup- now I just need bread. Or perhaps old tortillas. But it will be a marathon of french toast as everyone will want to try it.

I have no problems sharing. Or buying food that I want, even in large quantities so I can make some for the family, too. It´s just a lot of pressure! Mostly because they think I don´t know how to cook. They were amazed when I - gasp! - could crack an egg. Yes, seriously.

So. Adventures in cooking to come. First up, better made no bake cookies. Then, perhaps some Chinese red bean paste pancakes. Then french toast. Assuming I can find bread for the toast part... But man if I find bread.... mmm sandwhiches every day for lunch! Fried egg sandwhiches, deviled egg sandwhiches, cold chicken salad sandwhiches.... mmmmm....

I crave protein. Yes, I know that if you combine beans with a grain, such as rice, it makes protein. So technically I am getting protein. But I want eggs! And fish! And for god´s sake some BEEF - it is what´s for dinner, you know. Just not in Nicaragua.

I´m hungry now.








Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



1st March 2009

Good to the last drop...
Ha ha, I'm glad the massive amounts of hot chocolate are still serving their purpose. You should just show them how to make the French toast and tell them it tradition to make your own. So you make a few pieces, and let them at the rest!
2nd March 2009

French Toast
...dude, i'm totally craving french toast now!
3rd March 2009

cookies
by the way, you might just need to boil the chocolate mixture a little longer. like maybe a minute or two. are you at high altitude? because that could also affect how long you have to boil it. i think.

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb