rain, rain go away little molly... has laundry that needs to dry


Advertisement
Published: May 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Oh man what a rainy rainy blech rainy season this is. I woke up at 5 am and it wasn´t raining. So I did some laundry and hung it up. By the time I went to my room to grab my towel and shampoo to head back outside to shower, it was raining. And it hasn´t stopped.

There were no busses running today, so I walked down the mountain in the mud and rain and I am completely and utterly soaked. Which makes walking through the rivers in town a little easier since I can´t get any wetter.

Ugh.

For those coming to the Nica for the Baade Torrez Boda, the hotel in Somoto provides breakfast, but there is the best street food breakfast like a block away from the hotel. And we are going to eat there, too.

It´s a tiny wiwila (wira) shack. Wiwila (pronounced we-ra) is a sweet tortilla made of new ground corn and sugar, made on banana leaves, and served with cuajada (nican cheese) for like 60 cents and it is the beeest evvvvver hot off the grill with cold cuajada and a cup of coffee. YUM.

Lenin was like, we should do this in the States. And then we realized that there isn´t new ground corn available every day nor are there banana leaves in Missourah nor are there whole cows milk and the pills to cuajar milk.

I will miiiisssss wira and cuajada.

What I will not miss are cold showers and a the lack of a DRYER. I won´t miss the busses.

But what am I talking about? We still have 8 months left. But only 6 months for my volunteer service.

The REASON I walked down the damn mountain in the mud and rain is because my letter of singleness was signed and ready. So I paid the last $5 of the $15 lawyer´s fee and got my paper. Then I went to the post office and mailed three Spanish wedding invites and then Lenin got in from work, so we went to a different lawyers office where the legal papers for the motorcycle that he´s buying from his family (insert loooong family drama story here).

Two law offices. Two official documents. Tomorrow we go down the hill to give my birth certificate, copies of my passport and residence card, and the lawyer´s letter of singleness document to the judge. Lenin gives copies of birth certificate, letter of singleness, and his ID card. And in two weeks we can get legally married. Assuming all goes according to plan.

Soaked. I am swimming in my shoes. I bet if I took off my socks I could wring them out.

PS I posted photos on my last blog, so check those out.

Over & out. Cambio & fuera



Advertisement



28th May 2010

Congratulations on your Boda
Molly Congratulations on your Wedding, I havent had the chance to met you both but you guys sure make a cute couple and yeah, your story is so exiting just like a fairy tale. And about the wiwila, I have good news for you so you can make them at home in the USA, You will have to use caned sweet corn though , and the Banana leafs you can find them at an Asian market, or at the international isle on a big supermarket, The pills to make the cheese (Cuajada) is callet Rennet also available in the USA, and you can use Whole milk from a dairy store, Just make sure you write down the recipe and practice it few times. Good luck to you
28th May 2010

Congratulations
Hi Molly I wrote a comment in another entry and I made a mistake because I wrote in a previous entry, whatever I'm glad for you and wish for you and Lenin all the happiness and the best. If you talk or exchange emails with Arielle please say hello for me and tell her that I miss her a lot.. Best regards..
28th May 2010

Not true!
"Wiwila" was one of my favorite things there too! With FRESH cuajada OH baby. You are ENTIRELY mistaken, however...ALL that stuff is available in LA. As in, move here. You wont regret it. There is a Nica bar like three blocks from here that sells Tona and Victoria at happy hour. I miss YOU! Hugs Hugs.
31st May 2010

So.... After the PC are you guys leaving Nica??? Wont Lenin freeze?????
2nd June 2010

We're having a good time visiting
with Cindy and Carl this week. IT IS HOT AND MUGGYMUGGYMUGGY UP HERE. It's supposed to ("possibly") storm this evening. Cindy has a million questions about your upcoming wedding and ceremony and etc. Many of them I cannot answer! Guess she is thinking that I don't care enough about the details. Molly, are you thinking that same thing? YOU are "the planner", though, so have just been admiring you for all of the setting up of everything for everyone. Is there more that I can do for you before we get there??? I love you and, especially today, I'm really wishing you were here and we were talking and getting ready to sit down and watch one of our "Mom and Molly" type movies. Love you.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb