Travel to Nicaragua


Advertisement
Published: December 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hi everyone,

I am starting my blog from home and will be leaving early Wednesday morning for Managua, Nicaragua. I plan to do some service work there. I am not exactly in what capacity I will work but it is possible that I will be doing some public health education, teaching English, teaching science or working with the animals in the refuge that is part of the EcoLodge I am visiting.

If you are interested in the place I am going and the people I will be working with you can check out their website and blog to get a feel for the place. I hope to stay with a local family so that I can be immersed in Spanish. In the past I have found that in most lodges and hostels that everyone speaks English and I don't practice as much. I like to have a homestay with a family, where they take you under their wing and explain the local town to you. They also make some money directly by housing me and I learn so much more that way (and hopefully they do too).

The name of the place is La Mariposa (which means The Butterfly in Spanish) and here is their website:
http://www.mariposaspanishschool.com/. I am anxious to meet Paulette there who is British and she and her adopted Nicaraguan daughter live and run the lodge.

You can click on the map to see the area in Nicaragua where I will be. I will be in the green elevated area between Managua and Granada (or more specifically Masaya and Jinotepe). If you zoom in, you can see the village which is called Conception or La Concha for short.

I hope to send some pictures as I go but I am not sure how much time or access to the internet that I will have.

Dawn

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.045s; cc: 12; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb