Solo Por Un Queso


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Tegucigalpa
September 1st 2006
Published: September 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

A Bag of Coke in the Teacher's LoungeA Bag of Coke in the Teacher's LoungeA Bag of Coke in the Teacher's Lounge

Kari drinking a bag of Coke. I took a picture for all of those who might have had a difficult time visualizing it.
Its Friday and I am well rested. I went to take a nap yesterday afternoon at about 5p.m. and I woke up at about 5a.m. this morning. I am ready to take on the world (which to me is a small classroom labeled 5A)!

I have some good stories from today or maybe they are just funny to me because I got so much sleep. Upon arriving today, I had a little guy come up to me and say "Meees, you look beautiful today." Followed by, "Mees, also I forget my homework." What can I say? It was a good try.

I then had another kiddo who asked. "Mees, I go to the bathroom but really I leave and go to mall, but you believe me I go to bathroom, OK?" "No." Then he proceeds to ask, "Ok, Mees, I go to bathroom, OK? You just believe me." "Sit down." "Ok Mees." I don't have any idea where that came from but it was absolutely hysterical.

I have to preface the next story by saying that the kids are very excited by the fact they have "orientacion" (sex ed) this year. So excited in fact, that during science today, a young man in the front row was coloring a worksheet handed out during sex ed of the female genitalia. There he was just coloring away the vulva with a red crayon. I walked over and took the worksheet and added,", I'm glad your so excited about orientacion but right now we are talking about plant cells." The kids cracked up and I was trying so hard not to laugh that a little girl said, "Meees, laugh. It funny." I put the worksheet on my desk and forgot about it until the end of the day when the young man came to ask me for his paper. I feel his future girlfriends will very much appreciate his enthusiasm 😊

Just one more. It will help explain the title of this posting. As a way to control noise in the classroom during group work, I decided to bring in my computer and hook up speakers to play music. If I can't hear the music then it's too loud and they have to go back to thier own desks to complete the project. I put on the song "Solo Por Un Beso" which translates to "Just For a Kiss", which the kids love and the band is playing for the upcoming parade. I had three little guys serenading me using pencils as microphones. "You have beautiful voices boys. Now sit down." But the best was when this little girl who is very much out to lunch and just pretty special in general game over to my desk and started dancing with animal crackers spewing from her mouth (we were doing classification in science ) singing, "Solo Por Un Queso" which rhymes and translates to "Just for a Cheese". What an end to a crazy week at school. Loved it.

Later that evening there was a parent meeting and I was able to meet some of my students' parents. They are all very sweet and I now know where some of the quirks that I see in my students come from.

After the meeting, I came home to get ready to go out. We went back to Villa Real to dance the night away. The great thing about Villa Real is now we get in for free because one of Sarah's student's fathers owns the bar and her mother works the door. I was out shaking my groove thing for most of the night, but about half of the teachers that were with us were sleeping both standing up and sitting down. The kids take their toll, I guess 😊 So it was an early night and we were home before 2a.m.

Advertisement



5th September 2006

Jenna, today was a weird first day back to school for Travis. I got a call from the school around 10am saying that Travis went to use the bathroom and never returned to class. Hmmm, Whats up with that!! Well, at least we know YOU didn't have anything to do with it, being that you are in honduras! :) Ok, we might be joking a little but we LOVE what you wrote about that little boy. We still think you should of let him go to "the bathroom" but given him your shoe size first in case he happened to run into a cool shoe store! :)
11th November 2006

Wow
Hi, you dont know me but I just read your blogs about teaching the 5th graders and it sounds similar to my experience this past summer.(I cant believe how long ago it was!) I also was teaching classes to 5th graders as well as 1st-4th graders every week in a little community in Lempira, and I loved it. Although my friend and I only taught classes in English, the kids in my community would say the cutest things, and they absolutely loved us. I remember the first day of class I was observing, and watched the school sing their national anthem-while staring at my partner and I off the side instead of the flag that was right in front of them. good times. Well sounds like your having fun, I wish you luck. Can I ask you how you got the job teaching there, I would like to try it in the future.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb