Camping in Zamorano!


Advertisement
Published: October 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I heart campfires!I heart campfires!I heart campfires!

It had been awhile since I'd last been camping.
Sarah Tepsic's fiance's family owns a farm in El Zamorano and there was a concert this past weekend happening at the Agricultural University (yes friends, think U of G Aggies but the WHOLE school!) so we thought we'd go catch a concert and then camp out in the cow pastures at the farm!

Earlier in the week a bunch of us drove out to Mall Cascadas to the Hyper Paiz store (owned by Walmart) to get some supplies for camping. I found a 2 person tent for about $20. Sleeping bags were $80 and there was NO way I was paying that much, so I settled with a $20 twin comforter instead. It was perfect. Libby and Pam split the cost of a $70 cooler and we were all set.

We left Friday around 5, and by the time we loaded up, drove there, got things organized, used the machete to clear space for our tents, and set up, the concert was over. That was okay though, as we headed back down to our "camp site" in the cow pasture, started a fire and started our night of beers, hot dogs, and s'mores.

We had a great time
Hot Dogs and S'mores!Hot Dogs and S'mores!Hot Dogs and S'mores!

A must for every campfire!
with great people, and Sarah and Manu announced that they're expecting!

I think I was up until about 4AM, then crashed in my brand new little 2-person tent.

In the morning we were woken up by the dogs barking. We weren't sure why until we opened the tents and saw cows all around us! I suppose we WERE in THEIR field! lol.

We didn't hang around much. We cleaned and packed up and were heading home for Tegucigalpa.

Most of Saturday I just slept then caught up on a lot of my shows from home using the internet. Sunday I spent the entire day doing laundry (5 loads to include towels and bedding!), cleaning my apartment, and grading papers for school. Our grades are due this week, so things have been a little hectic.

This weekend is a big Halloween party. Walt is coming and he and I are going as Greek Gods - should be fun. Pictures to come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Cow head... no, pelvis!Cow head... no, pelvis!
Cow head... no, pelvis!

Pam found a cow pelvis and the boys all took turns putting it on their heads. We didn't realize how dirty and gross it was until the next morning in the daylight!
COWS!COWS!
COWS!

Just a reminder that we were camping in THEIR field!
My Cute Little Tent!My Cute Little Tent!
My Cute Little Tent!

The blue and yellow one on the right :)


Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb