Taking The Long Way Tomorrow


Advertisement
Published: March 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This past week and a half has been very, very long. Last week I only went to school one day, Tuesday. I was feeling pretty sick and considered going to school anyways. That was until I went to the doctors and found out that I wasn't allowed to return to school for the rest of the week. Turns out, I had two infections. That's all they say here, by the way. Just infection, not what kind. He gave me a couple of prescriptions to fill and I looked them up on the internet before even attempting to take them. So, from what I gather I had (still have) Bronchitis and an I also had an E. Coli infection. I also came to find out that they don't sell this E. Coli medication in North America because it isn't approved and it is only sold in third world countries. It made me kind of hesitant to take it, especially considering I don't take any medication ever to begin with. But it all worked out. I still only have one head, I did not wake up with any strange growths...yet.

I know that after being out of school sick for three days, the last thing you are supposed to do is go out. I was explaining to everyone here that when I was a kid, if I stayed home from school sick, there was no way I was allowed out after school to play with my friends. But, everyone had a good point when they said that I was now an adult and didn't need permission. I pretty much asked for it anyways and got it. So Friday night, Leighanne, who was also out sick, went out with everyone to Esly's potluck at her house. It was so much fun. We partied, dance, drank and some people ate. I of course, didn't want to eat and drink at the same time so I just decided to have more alcohol. I was more intoxicated this past Friday night than I have been in a long time, not just since I have been here. It was fun, at least the parts I remember were.

We stayed at Esly's until around 11 or so and then headed to Sangria's. Doniel and I got into a little tiff about something pretty stupid. So, I left with everyone else and he went home. We then went to Gota where I continued to drink and drink. I was on a mission though, after that little tiff with Doniel. So, I went up to the first cute that I saw there and decided he was going to dance with me. After I started talking to him, he said exactly this "Wow, your English is very good!" I couldn't believe he said that and couldn't stop laughing. But, I did let him know that luckily my English is very good, considering I am Canadian and not Honduran. I talked to him for quite a while, turns out he is a base guy and who knows just yet if he is one of those frat type base guys I have talked about. He left around 2:30 because they have curfew, unless they have somewhere to go. Which he didn't. Katie and I then left that bar and headed to Status. Status is where is gets very very fuzzy. I only stayed for a beer and had to get out of there. I am proud of myself, I didn't shut the bar down that night. I definitely was well on my way though. As soon as I left there, I called Doniel and went over to his place. I knjew even while I was drunk that we had been arguing about absolutely nothing. Everything is fine between him and I now, it was that night. Now the only thing that isn't so great is that I keep getting calls and text messages form the base guy and because Doniel and I aren't actually together, I am still taking them. The base guy is very hot and I don't see why we can't talk just a little more. Until he turns out to be a frat boy of course.

Saturday and Sunday was very chill. I just hung out with Doniel and watched movies the whole rest of the weekend. I kind of felt bad because there were two teachers visiting from last year, but I just did not want to go out Saturday night, at all. They ended up leaving this morning and I barely talked to them at all. They seemed really nice, I wish I had gotten the chance to talk to them. I always find it strange how quickly time flies here when it also goes at such a slow pace. It just seems impossible that it can be two ways at the same time.

This week has already been crazy busy. We had to have our grades for report cards turned in for today, Tuesday. I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning last night crunching numbers and praying that my students grades were good. I am very proud of myself to be honest. Most of my students gardes have gone up by at least 10 percent. All except in one class, Phonics. Every single mark has gone down in Phonics. I don't know if I have mentioned it here before but I HATE PHONICS CLASS! I have to teach Phonics 7 times a week. I have done what I thought was my best to make it interesting and tried not to show my true feeling about the class, but I think I have failed in that area. It is very hard to pretend to be excited about a subject that I completely detest. I have no issues in any of the other classes and that's why I know that their grades are my fault for that class. I feel terrible about it and I am going to do my absolute best to try a new approach when it comes to this class, but I just don't know. Either I need to become a better Phonics teacher or I need to become a better actress, those are my only two choices.

I did manage to get the report cards done, even without the internet working. I waited for two hours to get the "format" that was sent to my email from the school. I gave up at about 2 and decided to finish it at school this morning. Now all I have left to do, is one major thing. I have to make up the whole first grade curriculum for next year, for oh, only 8 subjects. This is something that should most definitely be done by the school, but hey, the teachers don't have enough to do so they're making us do it. I guess it's a good thing they may actually have a curriculum in place for next year, but then again who really knows. So far, I have 10 pages and still many, many more to go. Had they not asked the day after report cards, giving us just one day to do it, maybe it would be done. But as of yet, it's looking like maybe Friday it will be done. I am not going to stress about it because I am learning very fast that when they say they want something tomorrow, they really mean it could be next week and that's just fine. I am beginning to move at my own Honduran time.

I have finally had my first strange encounter with a local here. The four us, Annie, Leighanne, Anthony and myself were walking to school this morning, like we do every morning. About half way to the school a guy came up to me and started asking me for money. He was saying he was poor and I was rich and that I should give him money. I looked at him and noticed that he did not look poor at all and his English was probably the best English I have heard from any Honduran. He had probably lived in the States for quite some time. So, I flat out said no. He asked if I was American, again I said no. At this time, Anthony is walking beside me and his English isn't very good and I don't think he knew what was happening. After saying no for the fourth time, the guy got this crazy look in his eyes and his voice went gravelly and low and he told me that if he had a gun I would give him all of my money. I just kept walking, but he was keeping pace with me. The next thing he said gave me chills. He said that if he had a gun he would f*cking kill us. Leighanne and Annie were a little behind Anthony and I and didn't know what was going on. They guy then left me and approached them. He asked them for money and apparently Annie got a little rude with hm and he threw a Lempira at her and started screaming "f*cking Americans, I will f*cking kill you you b*tches. You f*cking Americans are f*cking dead! Dead! I'm going to kill you, you f*cking Americans!"

I just kept on walking, looking straight ahead waiting to get to school and off of that street. I can't say I was completely scared, I was a little shaken up. It was only 6:30 in the morning and it seemed so out of the blue. But mostly, I was saddened. He was right. If he had a gun it would have been a whole different story. Luckily, he didn't.

It really shook up Leighanne the most. Annie has already been robbed and as for Anthony, it wasn't until we explained what had happened that he figured it out. I will never forget that sinking feeling in my stomach that I had today. It made me realize how quickly a nice morning walk to school can change here. I know and have known for a while now that this city is not the safest, by far. But the tone in his voice when he threatened our lives, really drove home that fact.

It wasn't the best way to start the day, but we were all okay and that's what matters. Tomorrow we are taking a different way to school, just in case. That's all we can do. I refuse to take a cab to school because some guy threatened us. I am sure he will be around and we will run into him at some point, but I am not going to give up any of my freedoms here. The whole situation this morning was not that bad, just some threats. But, it did remind me that I am in Honduras, not Canada and that anything can happen. Even at 6:30 on a Tuesday morning.

Advertisement



25th March 2009

Again So Calm and Cool
You make me shudder and gasp with this whole blog. Yet you remain remote and cool. Like it was no big deal that some guy wanted to kill you. Not just you your friends too. Like what the fuck Janet? Okay I am officially tweaked out. OMG! You just take it with the rest. Wow. Alright I will give up this point now. Be careful dammit. Moving on. You are beating yourself up about the phonics program. I am sure that it is not your teaching skills at all that factor into it. Have you thought that phonics is actually quite hard to learn? I know people older then grade 1 that still don't get it. Will not mention names. Glad to hear that you had a wonderful this past weekend. It sounds like you love the bar scene there. I know I probably would too. As for the doctors visit you say they just tell you that you have infections. Do you ask them to be more specific and they just won't be or you are just not asking the question? Anyhow Janet this is getting to be long winded. So I will close. BTW glad you made up with Donielle.
25th March 2009

Fucking Canadian:)
My goodness janet what a week you have had!!Glad you got your drunk on or should I say plastered out of your mind on!!!At least you didn't fight with any walls this time!;)As for the freak who tried to rob you I am not quite sure what to say but am very glad you are alright and very very very glad that asshole didn't have a gun!you must check into a program called phonics aerobics the only people that i have come across that have it is the resource teachers at St.Bens here so if you have a difficult time finding it I will see what i can do for you here!It is an amazing program and lots of fun for the kids as well!You be careful there and stay safe!!LOVE YA!!
7th April 2009

I am looking into that program you told me about. But any info you could send me on it, please do! It would be nice to have something new and fun to do with Phonics. Uggh Phonics.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb